>RT Update: Roving Reporter Mona interviews Judi McCoy!

>

Romantic Times Convention Update


Interview with Judi McCoy

Author of the Dog Walker series & the Goddess series


Judi McCoy writes the Dog Walker mystery series as well the Goddess series. An avid dog enthusiast, she adopts rescue dogs. Rudy, the dog she based the Dog Walker series on, was one such dog. He was a special friend and held a special place in her heart. He died a few years ago, and she misses him a great deal.


Judi is a very funny/serious lady. She’s intelligent, loud, boisterous, friendly, and giving. She donates her time and money to teach aspiring writers the skills they need to get started in the business.


While we were doing this interview, people were coming up to speak to her and her rapid-fire responses brought howls of laughter. A very animated person, she talks a mile a minute, keeping everyone laughing. Everyone should be aware that all her proceeds from sales of the first Dog Walker book, Hounding the Pavement, are donated to Best Friends animal rescue (link at the bottom of this post).
_____________________________________________

Interview:

Mona: How did you get started writing professionally?


Judi: I traveled in my work and I hated it. I was an avid reader, and read some badly written books so I decided to rewrite them. Then I decided to write my own books. 


Mona: Are you a plotter, pantser, or combination?


Judi: A combination.


Mona: Who is your favorite character or type of character to write?


Judi: I like to write about strong women—the kind who rescue the hero. I like them to be strong and full figured.


Mona: Do you prefer to continue writing a series uninterrupted or interrupt it with other writing?


Judi: When I’m writing a series I want to keep writing—no stopping.


Mona: Who influenced or encouraged you the most?


Judi: First my husband and then my sister.


Mona: Who was your favorite teacher and what subject did they teach?


Judi: Sister Gertrude Ann at St. Francis Academy taught English, and because of her, I diagramed sentences forever—at least through my junior year.


Mona: What interrupts or interferes with your writing the most?


Judi: The telephone.


Mona: If you weren’t a writer, what type of work would you do?


Judi: I’d work dog rescue or animal rescue.
(Someone interrupted to ask her about Rudy, the rescue pet she based her Dog Walker series on, and tenderhearted Judi was brought to tears when she spoke of him. He died a few years ago, and she still feels his loss acutely.)


Mona: What’s the biggest drawback to writing?


Judi: The loneliness. Writing is a lonely profession.


Mona: What’s the best thing about writing?


Judi: Meeting fans and touching people through her books.


Mona: Are you ever overwhelmed with the attention you receive now?


Judi: No. (Laughs)


Mona: What question would you like an interviewer to ask, but somehow they never do?


Judi: I’d like them to ask about Rudy. He was so special, there’s not a day goes by that I don’t miss him.


Mona: What would you like people to know about you?


Judi: (Laughs a lot) My life’s an open book. They can know anything but my weight and age.


Mona: If you decided to write in a genre you had never tried before, what genre would it be?


Judi: Thrillers! I’d make them twisty, “turny”, complicated and exciting.




Reporting from RT
~Mona Leigh 


***

Paperback Dolls would like to thank Judi McCoy for this insightful interview, and of course, our roving reporter – Mona. 


To learn more about Judi and her books visit her Website
To learn more about Best Friends Animal Rescue visit their Website




http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0451230485&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0451228472&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0451226313&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0981601103&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0061341436&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

4 responses to “>RT Update: Roving Reporter Mona interviews Judi McCoy!

  1. >As a major dog lover I respect all that she is doing for animal rescue, and I want to know more about Rudy!!!

  2. >Thank you so much Mona! *Yet more books join the TBR pile*

  3. >I have Hounding the Pavement on my kindle – just haven't had a chance to read it yet…thanks for reminding me!! I love anything with animals…that's what drew me to the book in the first place 🙂

  4. >I just love animals in books. They really say a lot about a character … and an author! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

