>Getting to Know… Noa

>Noa first fell in love with books when she discovered 100 acre wood and its inhabitants. To this day, the last pages of “The House at Pooh Corner” make her cry. In a good way. 

From“Calvin and Hobbes” to “The Iliad and the Odyssey” and lets not forget “Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes”. Biographies, mysteries, history books and romances all have a place on her bookshelves. Who needsfurniture? This 29 year old singleton’s dream is to invent the zero-calorie chocolate. But until that day arrives, she tries to create sweet confections with whatever chocolate she can find. An MA in conflict studies (need a mediator?) means Noa loves a good debate, especially when she wins. If she were in charge, books would be free for everyone.




WHAT IS YOUR GREATEST FEAR?
Never fulfilling my dreams


WHAT IS YOUR CURRENT STATE OF MIND?
itchy (lime poisoning will do that to you)


WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE OCCUPATION?(WAY OF SPENDING TIME)
*Looks at the name of the blog* … Reading, enjoying a good meal with friends, and music. Every day has a soundtrack.


WHAT HISTORICAL FIGURE DO YOU MOST IDENTIFY WITH?
I don’t think there is just one. At certain times you feel like you can identify more easily with different people in history.


WHICH LIVING PERSON DO YOU MOST ADMIRE?
My niece. She was born with so many disabilities, at the age of seven she has already been through what no adult should have to endure. But the love and affection that shine through those eyes? Nothing like it.


WHO IS YOUR FAVORITE FICTIONAL HERO?
Just one? Seriously? Francis Crawford of Lymond from Dorothy Dunnet’s Lymond Chronicles. I always love the anti-hero…


WHO IS YOUR FAVORITE FICTIONAL HEROINE?
Again, just one? Well, Lizzie Bennet from Pride and Prejudice would have to be first choice – I too have four sisters… though sadly, I don’t think I’m Lizzie. (Must add – Sophy Stanton-Lacy from Georgette Heyer’s “The Grand Sophy” comes in at a close second, I wish I were like Sophy)


WHO ARE YOUR REAL-LIFE HEROES?
My grandparents. They survived the horrors of the holocaust and retained their humanity. Surviving is enough, still holding on to faith in humanity, compassion, and laughter? That is heroic.


WHAT IS YOUR MOST TREASURED POSSESSION?
my independence. 


WHEN AND WHERE WERE YOU HAPPIEST?
Trip to switzerland, age 13, swinging on the swings that faced the mountains, you could almost imagine you’re flying.


WHAT IS YOUR MOST OBVIOUS CHARACTERISTIC?
Sarcasm (is kvetching a characteristic? I do so love a good kvetch…)


WHAT IS THE TRAIT YOU MOST DEPLORE (HATE) IN YOURSELF?
I over-think everything


WHAT IS THE TRAIT YOU MOST DEPLORE IN OTHERS?
Lack of consideration for those around you (yes, you over there screaming into your mobile phone in the doctor’s office, I don’t need to know about your love life, you cretin.)


WHAT IS YOUR GREATEST EXTRAVAGANCE?
Books and bedding. If my suitcase is overweight its because of Strand Books and Bed Bath and Beyond.


WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE JOURNEY?
I hope its the one I’m on. 


WHAT DO YOU MOST DISLIKE ABOUT YOUR APPEARANCE?
My thighs. I hate them.


WHAT DO YOU CONSIDER THE MOST OVER-RATED VIRTUE?
Goodness. Its not enough if you lack kindness, understanding and sympathy. 


ON WHAT OCCASION DO YOU LIE?
Usually it involves someone asking me why I didn’t answer the phone. I just didn’t feel like it. 


WHICH WORDS OR PHRASES DO YOU MOST OVER-USE?
Lots of words of British origin that manage to express what I’m feeling in any given situation.


IF YOU COULD CHANGE ONE THING ABOUT YOURSELF, WHAT WOULD IT BE?
I take things too hard. I need to lighten up and stop kvetching. 


WHAT DO YOU CONSIDER YOUR GREATEST ACHIEVEMENT?
Not giving up. I’m an optimistic pessimist. 


WHERE WOULD YOU LIKE TO LIVE?
In a place I call my own.


WHAT IS THE QUALITY YOU MOST ADMIRE IN A MAN?
When he admires an intelligent woman(and not from condescension). Oh and please don’t laugh – Good hygiene. laundry detergent is an aphrodisiac to me. 


WHAT IS THE QUALITY YOU MOST ADMIRE IN A WOMAN?
Sense of humor. As a woman, you need to have one. 


WHAT IS IT YOU MOST DISLIKE?
In men and women – ignorance. 


WHAT DO YOU VALUE MOST IN YOUR FRIENDS?
That they put up with me.


HOW WOULD YOU LIKE TO DIE?
Death by chocolate.


IF YOU WERE TO DIE AND COME BACK AS A PERSON OR AN ANIMAL, WHAT DO YOU THINK IT WOULD BE?
A Unicorn. 😉


IF YOU COULD CHOOSE AN OBJECT TO COME BACK AS, WHAT WOULD YOU CHOOSE?
A book in my house. Then I know I’ll be taken care of. 


WHAT IS YOUR MOTTO (WORDS YOU LIVE BY OR THAT MEAN A LOT TO YOU)?
“There may be trouble ahead…Let’s face the music and dance”  


WHO HAS BEEN THE GREATEST INFLUENCE ON YOU?
My family and friends. They are the people who go through life with me. The good, the bad, and the very mundane.

Books I’m reading this week


http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=1402213522&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrI’m feeling a bit nostalgic this week so while the TBR pile grows bigger and bigger, I have been visiting my “keeper” shelf. Going through my entire collection of Georgette Heyer books and re-reading some of my favorites. This week it’s Faro’s Daughter a regency (though I think this is slightly pre-regency) romp, but written with such wit and humor that I sometimes feel calling it a regency romp does it no justice, since people tend to look down at the genre with disdain. Well, anyone that does so when it comes to Heyer’s brilliant writing, has obviously never read any of her books. My absolute favorites? The Grand Sophy, Regency Buck, Frederica, Devil’s Cub, Sylvester …oh all right, almost all of them! 



In Faro’s Daughter Beautiful Deborah Grantham, mistress of her aunt’s elegant gaming house, must find a way to restore herself and her aunt to respectability, preferably without accepting either of two repugnant offers. One is from an older, very rich and rather corpulent lord whose reputation for licentious behavior disgusts her; the other from the young, puppyish scion of a noble family whose relatives are convinced she is a fortune hunter.

Max Ravenscar, uncle to her young suitor, comes to buy her off, an insult so scathing that it leads to a volley of passionate reprisals, escalating between them to a level of flair and fury that can only have one conclusion…

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=1847441157&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr1918: German troops flood back from the Russian front for an all-out assault in France. The under-strength British reel back; the specter of defeat haunts the land. In the front line, Bertie struggles to bring out his battered battalion; at home Jessie, carrying his child, faces her family’s censure. Thomas follows the Romanovs to Ekaterinburg as Russia descends into bloody civil war. Emma drives an ambulance in the FANY, and Jack is shot down. In the last, terrifying year of the war, the Morlands are more than ever in the thick of it, winning through by courage, steadfastness, and love.

The Fallen Kings is the 32nd book in the Morland Dynasty series – a series that follows the history of one family from the wars of the roses and now – World War I.

Brilliant series!

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0425219259&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrJust a few weeks ago Glam Kitty wrote a wonderful review of Mistress of the Art of Death. To me, that is an automatic “must read”. It is now in my hands and will fulfill my weekly mystery requirement 😉

In medieval Cambridge, England, Adelia, a female forensics expert, is summoned by King Henry II to investigate a series of gruesome murders that has wrongly implicated the Jewish population, yielding even more tragic results. As Adelia’s investigation takes her behind the closed doors of the country’s churches, the killer prepares to strike again.

Read Glam Kitty’s review here.

As always everyone, Happy Reading!

12 responses to “>Getting to Know… Noa

  1. >Death by chocolate??? LOL! Sounds perfect for you!

  2. >All I can say is books and bedding? What's the thread count minimum, Ms. Noa?

  3. >"Sense of humor. As a woman, you need to have one."Too true, Noa.

  4. >Day – its like the dessert has my name on it!Swinka – the higher the better!

  5. >Noa, I can feel you on the thinking too much. Try meditation, I have been meditating in the morning for a little over 2 weeks and I'm starting to get better at letting go of my thoughts sometimes. Everyone knows I can over analyze something from so many angles it is scary. Nice to have a few moments of not analyzing.Love chocolate, nom nom.

  6. >Eowyn – this morning in the car my mom looks at me and says: "Could you please stop that you're giving me a headache" I asked her what I was doing, she said: you're thinking again….<<<<<>>>>>>

  7. >Let's talk about those thighs…LolGreat interview!

  8. >Please, lets not!!!!! ;)Someone pass the chocolate!

  9. >I love Pooh! Have you read the Tao of Pooh?

  10. >No! Where? What? How? My favorite is eeyore… he is so me.

  11. >It's a very quick read – Pooh for grown ups. Author Benjamin Hoff uses Pooh (& the others) to explain Chinese Taoism princliples.Very good!

  12. >And another one on my TBR pile! Thanks Karen…A.A. Milne rocks.

Leave a Reply

