>Interview and Contest with Karin Harlow!!

>

[This Contest is Now Closed]

 Today at Paperback Dolls we have special guest Karin Harlow. Karin’s a debut paranormal romance author with the first of her L.O.S.T series, Enemy Lover, due out this Tuesday, May 25th. Earlier today I gave my review of Enemy Lover witch you can read Here. Karin was nice enough to spend some time chatting with me and will be hanging around to answer some questions.

When you have no alternative, then you call in L.O.S.T. Because with the Last Option Special Team, it’s do or die. . . .
It’s Jax Cassidy’s first mission for L.O.S.T.—one that will give the former cop who went rogue a chance to prove herself. Her assignment: gain the trust of assassin Marcus Cross . . . eliminate him . . . then take down Marcus’s mentor, Joseph Lazarus, a man with a bold eye on the White House. But the woman who’s known by her team for being a femme fatale succumbs to passion, only to discover Cross’s deadly secret. He’s a vampire, and Joseph Lazarus is his creator.
Left for dead by his platoon in the violent hills of Afghanistan, Special Ops sniper Marcus Cross was given a second chance at life. His newly heightened skills make him the perfect killing machine, and as Lazarus’s right-hand man, he’s quickly rising to the top of his dark empire, purging enemies with speed and precision. Only when dangerous beauty Jax Cassidy is sent to bring him in does he begin to question Lazarus’s motives and his own actions. But when Jax’s life is threatened by the one thing that can destroy them both, Marcus must make a bitter choice—her death or his.

The L.O.S.T.
Last Option Special Team

A group of rogue cops, their lives destroyed, rise from the ashes like the mythical phoenix…
Caught acting outside the law, they are given a choice by the enigmatic Mr. Black: Spend their lives in prison. Or break all ties with their past, assume a new identity, and become part of an elite crime fighting team unofficially sanctioned by the U.S. Attorney General’s Office.
Their sole purpose is to close the cases that normal law enforcement channels cannot touch. What they discover is there are no rules–not for them and not for the Others.

L.O.S.T. operatives are the hunters, the cleaners, the end of the road for the bad guys. Immortal. Or not.

No boundaries.

No laws.

No compromises.

When the balance of humanity is in jeopardy, failure is not an option.

We want to thank you Ms. Harlow for guest posting with us at Paperback Dolls.  
Thank you, Kitt for inviting me!

Could you tell us a little more about Enemy Lover? 
 
Enemy Lover is book one in what I hope to be a long and successful series.  L.O.S.T. operative Jax Cassidy is pitted against a highly successful therefore most lethal assassin, Marcus Cross, who also happens to be a vampire.  Her mission is to take Cross and his mentor/creator out before they infiltrate the White House and control the United States of America. Both Jax and Marcus get a lot more than they bargained for. They are two badly damaged individuals who make the best of the crappy hand life has dealt them.  Together they are a force of nature to be reckoned with. It’s a big story with larger than life characters. Labeled paranormal romantics suspense, ENEMY LOVER has been called an action adventure, political thriller by several reviewers as well.  Take your pick or take them all.  It’s a roller coaster ride from page one to The End. 
 

Can you tell us what L.O.S.T. stands for? 
Last Option Special Team.

Where did you come up with your idea for Jax Cassidy, Marcus Cross and the L.O.S.T. world?   
I was watching (not by choice, my husband’s) The Dirty Dozen for the hundredth time.  I thought how cool it would be to bring those guys into this century but instead of soldiers they’re bad ass cops who are in big trouble with the law.  One thought evolved into another and before you knew it, we pitched the series as The Dirty Dozen, meets Mission Impossible with a paranormal twist.  Jax Cassidy jumped onto the page immediately.  She was a potty-mouthed in your face don’t-mess-with-me-or-I’ll-kill-you girl.  Love at first meet for me!  Marcus showed up all dark and brooding, and I knew the minute he faced me all hell would break loose when he and Jax met.  They did not disappoint!

Why did you choose Vampires? Instead of say…werewolves?   
This time around, Marcus chose for himself. That, and I really do like hunky, dark, brooding vampires. I couldn’t resist.  😉
 

Will each of the L.O.S.T. novel have a new hero and heroine? Yep. Or will they stay the same?   
Each hero/heroine will either be a L.O.S.T. operative and their anti-protagonist an immortal.  The series is set in the human world.  It makes it a definite challenge when one of the two is not endowed with paranormal powers. It makes things veddy interesting indeed.

Do you have mental pictures of your characters that fit the bill of celebrities?   
For Jax I always kind of thought of Kate Beckinsale as she was in Underworld except Jax is far more in touch with her sensuality, and uses it when she has to.  Marcus?  I had an image of the man in my head, and was shocked speechless when I saw my cover for the first time.  With the exception of eye color, Marcus originally had golden eyes, I could not have asked for a better representation. I had to change Marcus’s eyes to that amazing blue.  So if hunky cover model acts, he’d get the job as Marcus!

How do you keep track of your world building 
Notes.  Lots and lots of notes.

Are you a plotter, pantser, or combination? 
 I’m a total panster, but before I can write one word I need to know a few things about my h/h and bad guy.  What do they want?  How bad do they want it?  And how far will they go to get it. 

How did you get started writing professionally?   
I’ve always written.  I love everything about writing romance. I dabbled for years until one day I decided, “Hey!  I want to get paid for this!”  And so, I set my sights on New York and never looked back!

What interrupts or interferes with your writing the most?  
My family.  I dearly love them.  But they find a way to wiggle into my writing day.  And they’re all grown!

What question would you like an interviewer to ask, but somehow they never do?  
Why is it important to you that your books matter? 

So, why is it so important to you that your books matter? 
I want my stories to resonate with readers who may need that extra push. Or a reader who is feeling like their life’s hurdles are insurmountable.  While we all can’t be Jax Cassidy, we all can be our own hero or heroine.  I want people to know they can.  I want my stories to be that inspiration.

What would you like people to know about you?  
That I’m passionate about what I do.  That I have worked hard, very hard to publish.  I never once said, I quit, and that because I could do it, so can anyone. 
 

Is there a different genre of fiction that you would like to write about? If so what? 
I’d like to write a big sweeping family saga, or a fun and frothy coming of age story.  The problem is, I don’t have a frothy voice. 
 

What books are on your “To Be Read” pile?

 Cindy Gerard’s lastest book, Risk No Secrets and Kresly Cole’s Pleasure of a Dark Prince among a gazillion others.  I’m woefully behind on my reading!
 
Kitt and Paperback Dolls, Thank you for inviting me!  Readers out there, feel free to ask me anything relating to writing, ENEMY LOVER or the industry!

I’m giving away a custom L.O.S.T. mug to a commenter who asks me any legitimate question about my book Enemy Lover, myself or about writing.

Thank you Karin for answering all of our questions! Please feel free to come back anytime!!

You can visit Karin at her Website or her Blog.

Contest Time!!

To add to Karin’s wonderful prize, I’m throwing in my copy of a signed ARC galley of Enemy Lover. To win, leave a comment for Karin based on her guidelines. This contest will be international, so everyone is welcomed.

We will add:

+1 entry for each place you post about today’s contest on your blog, social network, or anywhere you can. Digg it, stumble it, twit it, share it with the world. Wherever you share it, make sure you add a link to it along with your comment.

We ask the winners to post a review of the novel someplace. Whether it is on their own blog, Amazon, GoodReads, LibraryThing or wherever, it doesn’t matter. Just help get the word out.

The contest will stay open until May 30th, at which time we’ll determine the winner with help from Random.org and announce them on May 31st.

Also, we will try to contact the winners, but we ask that you check back to see if you’ve won and Kitt will send your info to Karin to collect your prize.

30 responses to “>Interview and Contest with Karin Harlow!!

  1. >Awesome interview! I totally respect people who don't quit and work hard to achieve their goals! Thanks Kitt and Karin for the interview and the books sounds interesting!

  2. >Thank you Karin, and of course our Kitt! Wondeful interview!

  3. >Where do we post our question? Here? Or on her site?

  4. >Peggy looks like exactly the kind of book I love.

  5. >@Rhonda- You can post questions here;)@bama- It does look like an excellent read for PR/UF fans;)

  6. >Sounds like a great book loved your interview especially about why your book matters and I think it's important to always write a book for a reason, that makes the book meaningful.I was wondering if you could write a series about anything what would it be?and why?-blog listhttp://paranormalromancefanatic.blogspot.com/tweethttp://twitter.com/elizabethcerna/status/14562474509

  7. >@Day Thanks! ;)@Karin…What was your inspiration for Enemy Lover? What is your inspiration for the L.O.S.T. series as a whole?

  8. >@Rhonda-Inspiration for L.O.S.T. world? I was watching (not by choice, my husband’s) The Dirty Dozen for the hundredth time. I thought how cool it would be to bring those guys into this century but instead of soldiers they’re bad ass cops who are in big trouble with the law. One thought evolved into another and before you knew it, we pitched the series as The Dirty Dozen, meets Mission Impossible with a paranormal twist. Jax Cassidy jumped onto the page immediately. She was a potty-mouthed in your face don’t-mess-with-me-or-I’ll-kill-you girl. Love at first meet for me! Marcus showed up all dark and brooding, and I knew the minute he faced me all hell would break loose when he and Jax met. They did not disappoint!

  9. >Great interview! How many books do you plan on having in the series?throuthehaze at gmail dot com

  10. >My question – you talk about never giving up, and working very hard to get published – were there moments of doubt? what did you do when they came along?

  11. >@Karin: Sorry by inspiration I meant more specifically from Dirty Dozen, why Dirty Dozen? What was it from the movie that inspired you?

  12. >Hi Karin! It was a really great interview!My question(s)Will we be seeing Jax and Marcus again in their pov? By the way Enemy Lover ended it seems they may take an important role.Also, do you know who L.O.S.T. 2 will be about? and do you have a name selected already?

  13. >Awesome interview!! Thanks for sharing, Karin! Don't enter me in the contest – I was lucky enough to get a bound galley of Enemy Lover and I've read it 3 times already LOLI guess you could say I liked it 😀 Actually I fell in love with Jax who is utterly KICK-ASS and Marcus *drool* Can't wait for the next one!

  14. >Hey, ladies, give me a few to get my stuff together and I'll be right back to answer questions and hang out.

  15. >Day and Noa, so glad you enjoyed the interview! I enjoyed it too! Kitt asks good questions!

  16. >Ask here, Rhonda! What I don't get to today (the day has totally gotten away from me and I have tons of family suddenly coming for dinner) I will answer everyone tomorrow!Bamafever, I hope you do love it. I loved writing ENEMY LOVER!

  17. >Elizabeth I am writing the series I would write if I could write about anything! I love the characters I've created and eagerly look forward to creating more wonderful characters and then telling their stories!

  18. >Rhonda, my inspiration comes from gusty passionate characters, and putting them in a forum where they can make a difference. I'm not a writer who likes to get political, or preachy, but I am a writer who through her characters shows that despite really crappy things happening to a person, not only can one survive it, but they can thrive. Add to that my love of paranormal and my life as a cop's wife, it's no wonder I incorporate suspense into my stories. In many ways, I wrie what I know. 🙂

  19. >Ladies, I have to hop off for a little while, I have to go shop for the hordes approaching. I promise to be back later tonight to answer all of your questions! I appreciate you all taking time out of your Sunday to stop by and ask. And keep those questions coming!

  20. >Good morning throuthehaze hahah I feel like i'm look through a haze this morning. too much wine last night! Ok, so to your question: right now I have only two books contracted, but, if ENWMY LOVER does well, we'll be going back to contract soon for more L.O.S.T. books!

  21. >Hi, Noa, thanks for the questions! There are always moments of doubt. Even after the sale and the book is on the shelf. This is a crazy industry, publishing. Really all I have control of is the book. I always believed in myself. I still do. I always knew I would sell to my dream house, for me it was a matter of when. Had I not believed in myself, no else would have. It's really important to have that self-beilief.

  22. >Rhonda, that the guys were the baddest of the bad, yet they came together to work as a team, and in many way redeemed themselves. I loved that aspect of the movie, that and the suicide mission.

  23. >:) Thanks for the response! Well, we believe in you!Hope you enjoyed the dinner party!!!

  24. >Hi, Kitt, thanks again for having me!Yes, we'll see Jax and Marcus again but not in their POV. I left ENEMY LOVER wide open for more immortal goings-ons. And there will be with the vampires, but book two has a half daemon, half elf heroine who is also a daemon hunter. The hero is L.O.S.T. operative Nikko Cruz. It too will be set in the human world. Marcus will play a role in that he has knowledge of the other immortals and the rules of the Order. So we'll see him as counsel to L.O.S.T. in that respect.book two, working title LOST SOULS is going to be a wild ride. Part quest, part revenge, the story is dark, sexy and edgy. 😉

  25. >Thank you, Bonnie!!!

  26. >Noa. I did! 🙂

  27. >I enjoyed the interview. I was wondering in the L.O.S.T world, are paranormals "out of the closet" or are they kept a secret?jen(at)delux(com)

  28. >Thank you for the interesting interview and contest! ^O^Have you ever got inspiration from your dreams?Thank you for making this awesome contest international! :)Giada M.fabgiada @ gmail.com

  29. >Hi, ladies! Thank you for a fabulous interview and contest! Karin, when you are writing such powerful and unique male characters as Marcus, do you try to “think like a man”? Or, do you think as a human being first, and then add the male characteristics? US Resident, Follower, Subscribergcwhiskas at aol dot com

  30. >Great interview!Which books you can’t wait to read this year?+1 Tweet: http://twitter.com/Sparima/status/15083723886spav05(at)gmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

