>Moning Maniac Week-Review: Dreamfever by Karen Marie Moning

>Dreamfever

[Fever 4]
“But for those of us who live large, the most alive we ever feel is when we’re punching air with a fist, uncurling our middle finger with a cool smile, and flipping Death the big old bird.”

MacKayla Lane lies naked on the cold stone floor of a church, at the mercy of the erotic Fae master she once swore to kill. Far from home, unable to control her sexual hungers, MacKayla is now fully under the Lord Master’s spell. In the New York Times bestselling author Karen Marie Moning’s stunning new novel, the walls between human and Fae worlds have come crashing down. And as Mac fights for survival on Dublin’s battle-scarred streets, she will embark on the darkest-and most erotically charged-adventure of her life.

He has stolen her past, but MacKayla will never allow her sister’s murderer to take her future. Yet even the uniquely gifted sidhe-seer is no match for the Lord Master, who has unleashed an insatiable sexual craving that consumes Mac’s every thought-and thrusts her into the seductive realm of two very dangerous men, both of whom she desires but dares not trust.

As the enigmatic Jericho Barrons and the sensual Fae prince V’lane vie for her body and soul, as she rallies the sidhe-seers to fight an impossible battle, and the power of the Dark Book weaves its annihilating path through the city, Mac’s greatest enemy delivers a final challenge…

It’s an invitation Mac cannot refuse, one that sends her racing home to Georgia, where an even darker threat awaits. With her parents missing and the lives of her loved ones under siege, Mac is about to come face-to-face with a soul-shattering truth-about herself, and about the world she thought she knew.

**Warning – Spoilers for this and past books in the series likely**


“…The animal I’d been recently hadn’t left me. She was still in me and would be forever. I was glad. I welcomed her feral nature. Pink Mac had needed a good dose of savagery. It was a savage world out there…” (Dreamfever, Karen Marie Moning)


Mac 4.0…well, wow. I remember when reading Dreamfever for the first time, how the chapters just flew by. I couldn’t stop reading. At the end of Faefever I felt a sense of loss, I knew Mac would never be the same and kept wondering how on earth would she ever get back to being the Mac we know? Well, I got my answer, she didn’t. No one can go through what Mac went through and come out as the same person. But that isn’t always a bad thing. Mac is stronger, she still has Pink Mac somewhere inside, but the savage is also there, and Mac needs that. 


Dreamfever is different from the rest of the books in the series in that we read the story through other voices, in addition to Mac’s. Dani, my favorite teen kick-ass heroine, starts the book off, and through Mac’s glimpses into Barrons’ mind, we see some of his past. But the changes from Mac’s point of view, to Dani’s and occasionally to Barrons’ point of view are not jarring, Ms. Moning makes it work.


The first chapters in the book deal with what happened to Mac in the final pages of Faefever, and in my opinion, were beautifully done. We may not know much about Barrons or his motives, but after these chapters one thing was clear – Barrons knows Mac. Knows who she is, and what she needs in order to be MacKayla Lane. I kept wondering if V’Lane had gotten to Mac first, would the result have been the same? I think not. In fact, my favorite line in the whole book is Barrons’ line. I won’t say which it is but it has to do with rainbows…. 


When Mac 4.0 finally appears, she is pissed off. At Darroc, at the Un-Seelie princes, at Rowena, and at V’Lane and Barrons for not being there when she needed them. Dani, wonderful 13 year old Dani was her savior and this creates a bond between the two Sidhe Seers. 


Meanwhile in Dublin, the walls have come crumbling down, and the Un-Seelie are out in the open. The world’s population is under threat, and the Sinsar Dubh is still out there. Then there is the mystery of the fourth being in the church on Samhain… Mac has no idea who he was, so how can she trust anyone? 


It seems that Mac’s journey is only beginning. She must save the world from the Fae, and the only way to do it is to put her OOP detection skills into high gear. As she joins forces with Sidhe Seers, Garda, V’Lane and Barrons, Mac forgets that her greatest weakness still exists, and Darroc knows what it is. The final chapters of Dreamfever find Mac traveling among the slivers with Christian MacKeltar, as she tries to get back home in time to save the ones she loves, here she will finally call IYD on her cell-phone, but will anyone answer her call? 


Dreamfever is my favorite in the series, even though I have to say, I didn’t love the chapters when Mac was traveling the slivers with Christian. To me, these chapters were like the chapters of the final Harry Potter, when Harry, Hermione and Ron are in the forest. Slightly out of place. I felt as if Ms. Moning was creating more questions instead of answering the ones that already exist, and boy, we have plenty of those. Who is the woman Mac dreams about? What is Barrons? Where is the Sinsar Dubh and will Mac ever be able to stop it? What is Darroc’s final goal? 


I keep wondering how Ms. Moning will tie up all these threads in one final book, Shadowfever (which will be out in January 2011). But I trust her. The publication of Shadowfever has been delayed, and while I can’t be happy about it, I’m happy that Ms. Moning is taking her time so that her readers will get the best book she can write. Ms. Moning has also revealed that Shadowfever will be twice as long as her usual books – yay! more book for me! So, I hope that it will continue the trend in the fever series – being even better than Dreamfever, and becoming my new favorite! 


So dear readers, take your time reading this series, you have until January to finish the first four books in the series and prepare yourself for the big finale. Just don’t blame me when you are left with weeks before the publication of Shadowfever, with nothing to do but wonder about the final scene in Dreamfever and what the future holds for MacKayla Lane. 



P.S. – you can get a sneak peek of the Shadowfever cover over at Karen Marie Moning’s website, and if you sign up for her newsletter, you will also enjoy monthly snippets from Shadowfever….but I warn you, these could be hazardous to your health!

Fever series [UF]
Darkfever-October 31, 2006
Bloodfever-October 16, 2007
Faefever-September 16, 2008
Dreamfever-August 18, 2009
Shadowfever-January 18, 2011[FINAL]
Visit Karen’s Website.
This book was purchased by Noa.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0385341652&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

3 responses to “>Moning Maniac Week-Review: Dreamfever by Karen Marie Moning

  1. >I'm afraid that for me the series jumped the shark with what happened at the end of Faefever. But i'll still check out book 5, just make certain that she ends up with Barrons, as is only fitting and proper. 🙂

  2. >Awesome review (",)!You're right, it IS hazardous for your health … all I've been doing is obsessing over the identity of IYD :sI'm so excited for Shadowfever … but, like you, I can't even begin to imagine how Ms. Moning is going to tie up ALL the loose ends and answer all the questions the books have raised in one final novel, even if it's 200 000 words long! – but I can't wait to find out :)I loved the beginning third of the book (yes, I love Dani + Barrons *grin*) … and I loved the end third, where she's traveling the slivers with Christian, I totally didn't expect all that and thought it was a lot of fun … my least favourite part of the book (and the whole series, actually) was the middle, where it seemed that Mac wasn't doing anything useful, just wandering around trying to avoid making any decisions about what course of action to take … if the LM hadn't forced her to do SOMETHING, she might still have been mooching about, killing Unseelie with Dani.

  3. >I do agree about the Silvers…but they were mentioned so Karen had to go there. It did give us information. One thing i noticed with karens writing is she would give us something at the start of the books, that most would probably forget by the end. in this case Mac was about page 32 I think of hardcover being told in her mind about a beast blaa..blaa…that happened at the end of book. Karen will put things in very cleverly. Oh my list is very long of theories and thoughts. I showed it to a blogger who had read Shadowfever and she was rather impressed. My friends and I have gotten the Fever quite bad..lol!! I just absolutely love this series. I think I shall be rather sad when I finally get to finish it as I wont have any more questions:( I will know it all. No more mystery. I may just have to sit and look at my book when it arrives, knowing that it is the last and all will be revealed, before I open the pages and know I will not be able to put it down until I turn the last page.I think it will be takeaway for my 3 kidlets and hubby :)I've really enjoyed your reviews of the series. It's my way of getting a little fix before my book arrives. Hopefully this week as it was dispatched 12th January:DMichelle

Leave a Reply

