>Review: Night Myst by Yasmine Galenorn

>

[Indigo Court 1]

Eons ago, vampires tried to turn the Dark Fae in order to harness their magic, only to create a demonic enemy more powerful than they imagined. Now Myst, the Vampiric Fae Queen of the Indigo Court, has enough power to begin a long prophesied supernatural war. And Cicely Waters, a witch who can control the wind, may be the only one who can stop her-and save her beloved Fae prince from the Queen’s enslavement.

Yasmine Galenorn is an author that I’ve been wanting to read for a while now, but the idea of starting another eight book series (there’s no way I would’ve been able to just stop at the first, regardless of how much I like it. Yes. I’m one of those readers. ) Anyways, it was something I wasn’t ready to take on just yet. When I found out about her new series, Indigo Court, I figured there was no better time like the present and I’m really glad I gave Night Myst, and this author, a chance.
After spending almost her entire life on the road with her mother Krystal, Cicely Waters, is called home to find a dark force has taken over her home town of New Forrest, Washington. The vampiric fae leader, Myst, Queen of Mayhem, has risen and is stealing the small communities magic-born to shore up her army in the upcoming war. We are presented with front row seats as Cicely finds out who not only her friends and enemies are, but who she is.
I like this heroine. I like how she doesn’t have anger issues despite her awful up bringing or how she knows she’s a powerful witch, but doesn’t believe she’s anything special. She seems to be, to me, one of the more grounded heroines, and every once in a while, I think I need this element of normalcy especially when we’re already presented with something we can’t possibly identify with like using magic as second nature. She’s as normal as is possible to me and that allowed me to actually place myself in her shoes. Another thing that I liked was that there’s much about Cicely that not only do we not know, but she has yet to find out, so we’ll be there every step of the way. Cicely makes tons of mistakes from her lack knowledge due to her mother, but she’s willing to learn as she goes, and she’s willing to do anything to keep her love ones safe.
Night Myst is filled with some of our old favorites, such as witches, weres and vampires, but Ms. Galenorn brings something new to the table that I have yet to see and that’s the vampiric fae. I absolutely love these new creatures. In her world, the fae of both sides (Seelie and Unseelie) have a long standing feud with that of the Crimson Court and Vein Lords (vampires) Wishing to infiltrate the Unseelie court, the vampires turned fae woman in hopes of siring children under their control. Only the plan backfires and they created a creature with all their abilities plus that of their heritage (Indigo Court), making them stronger in every way. These new creatures are crazy scary and yet enticing. Give. Me. More!
Starting with a steady, comfortable pace, Night Myst, keeps it through to the end. This novel is defiantly the one that gets us familiar with Ms. Galenorn’s new, rich, and darkly exotic world. Yet there were some things that I did find a bit.. off. The biggest though, for me, was that the display of normal emotions seem to be somewhat absent. I can see how once the real action began to unfold (and there was a mind numbing amount for the entire cast of characters), Cicely and co., may not have had the opportunity for simple shows let alone a full fledged melt down. However, in the beginning, I was missing that connection when they didn’t seem to be all that frantic about missing family members, regardless of the fact they didn’t know what they were up against.
In the end, Night Myst was fantastic start to the Indigo Court series and a great addition to the urban fantasy genre. I was left wanting more of this world and I’m  extremely interested in where the war between the fae and vampires takes us and what’s in store for Cicley as a result. I will most certainly be reading Night Veil when it releases next year and I just might be ready to start Ms. Galenorn’s other series, The Otherworld, if this novel is any indicator of her style.

Indigo Court [UF]
Night Myst-June 29, 2010
Night Veil-2011
Find Yasmine: Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter
Kitt won this book at The Book Pushers.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0515148148&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

6 responses to “>Review: Night Myst by Yasmine Galenorn

  1. >This sounds good Kitt!

  2. >I read Witchling (the first book in her Otherworld series), and I enjoyed it. I want to read this book too, but probably after I finish the other series first.

  3. >I have to be honest and say I could never really get into her other series but maybe I'll give the author one more shot and try this one.For some reason I don;t really like witch-centric stories but vamps….yes!

  4. >I've wanted to try her other series too & just haven't had a chance. This looks good, I think I'll give it a try 🙂

  5. >Sounds like a great start to a new series.

  6. >@kimscarecrow I'm glad to hear your enjoying her other series, I hope to be able to pick it up soon.@Karen This series has even mix of witch, fae and vamp. You should give it a try; it may be completely different from the Otherworld.@Laura The exact reason I went with this one. I love being there at the beginning of a new series. Yes I have to wait, but I don't feel the need to buy all of her back list. I have this awful habit of buying book series altogether so I don't have to wait. O.o @Lisa It was an excellent start to a new series (at least I thought so :))

Leave a Reply

