>SPECIAL: Sherrilyn Kenyon’s What’s your ‘sanctuary’? "No Mercy" Giveaway!!

>

*This Contest is Now Closed*

Many a Kenyon fan has said that that they have found sanctuary in her books throughout the years. Her fans also know about The Sanctuary, the fictional New Orleans bar in the Dark-Hunter world. Avid readers will often say that books provide a great retreat…that the release of a new book from a favorite author can make one’s day…that there’s nothing better than suspending disbelief and allowing oneself to sink into a storyline or a fantasy world.
We want to know, what’s your sanctuary? Perhaps it’s playing Rock Band on Xbox or settling into an episode of Star Trek? Perhaps you love spin class or heading to the park to sketch? Our very own Mona Leigh tells us how she finds sanctuary in Sherrilyn Kenyon’s books.

Reading is, and always has been, my favorite escape. Without leaving home, I can tour the world, fall in love, fight anarchy, and become everything I’ve ever wanted to be. When I first stumbled across Sherrilyn’s books, I bought the first one thinking it would be a pleasant read and then I’d move on to another author. Not so. I finished it, put the other authors aside, and beat a path back to the bookstore where I bought ALL of her books. Not just the Dark Hunter books, but everything that had her name on it. The salesclerk was happily surprised.

Her books are a wonderful escape. They’re well written, her use and knowledge of mythology is to be envied, and her characters are colorful, bold, and sexy. I mean, who doesn’t love a demon named Simi, who eats her enemies with hot sauce? Or a God/vampire who looks like sex-on-a stick?

When it’s time to take a break from reading, music (usually loud rock), exercise, or walking through a quiet forest with only the birds and animals for company is what regenerates me, soul and body.

~*~*~*~*~*No Mercy Giveaway!!*~*~*~*~*~

To enter, tell us about your sanctuary and why. One winner will receive a copy of NO MERCY. This contest is international and will  run through to September 20th. The winner will be announced on September 21st chosen by Random.org. Please remember that we can not give prizes to ‘Anonymous’ so leave a name or your email.

No Mercy (Dark-Hunter Novels)

Live fast, fight hard and if you have to die then take as many of your enemies with you as you can. That is the Amazon credo and it was one Samia lived and died by. Now in contemporary New Orleans, the immortal Amazon warrior is about to learn that there’s a worse evil coming to slaughter mankind than she’s ever faced before.

Shapeshifter Dev Peltier has stood guard at the front of Sanctuary for almost two hundred years and in that time, he’s seen it all. Or so he thought. Now their enemies have discovered a new source of power- one that makes a mockery of anything faced to date.

The war is on and Dev and Sam are guarding ground zero. But in order to win, they will have to break the most cardinal of all rules and pray it doesn’t unravel the universe as we know it.
68 responses to “>SPECIAL: Sherrilyn Kenyon’s What’s your ‘sanctuary’? "No Mercy" Giveaway!!

  1. >As I assume many people will put, reading is my main "sanctuary". My mind has always been my hiding place, my secret place, my place where all the wrongs are right. The books I read help to take me away from this world, this life. For a short while I can be elsewhere without worries or stresses or depression.There have been times when I have finished a book/set of books and I miss the world and the characters so much that I feel lonely.My other sanctuary is my pole fitness. I love having the house to myself, putting on some loud music and practising my pole moves. I'm not much of a dancer (I always say I have the grace, co-ordinate and sexiness of a drunk elephant in a mosh pit) but I still enjoy the freedom of trying to match moves to music.After a long pole session, I am usually in need of a long hot bubblebath which I enjoy with a glass of wine and (no shock really) a book 🙂

  2. >Woo and now I've finally sussed out how to log in properly (*blush*)

  3. >I presume you mean other than reading!My next favorite sanctuary is to leave cities and towns behind and get out into a game or nature reserve and just sit and listen to the birds and animals and enjoy.Thanks gor the giveaway and for making it International.Carol Tbuddytho {at} gmail DOT com

  4. >My sanctuary is the mountains. Fresh air, mountain lakes, wildlife and quiet. kjovus(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. >It's a cliche, but my home is my sanctuary 🙂 When I'm outside of my house I'm rushing around – running errands, getting exercise, hurrying off to uni or buying groceries… but when I get home I can sit, relax, read a book or three, make a sandwich. I can finally let go of the tension in my shoulders and burrow into my sanctuary.Kate1485 at hotmail.com

  6. >Reading fiction, especially the kind with happy endings are my sanctuary. It's the easiest escape there is.

  7. >Reading is my sanctuary. I love reading books for hours. It takes me different places and I love being pulled into the story. Sometimes its like I am there. Please enter me in contest. Tore923@aol.com

  8. >Love this series and am so excited to read Dev's story!Aside from books, of course, my sanctuary would be my bedroom. It's comfy and comforting and I love to be in it when I'm feeling blue.bookaddictpatti at cox dot net

  9. >My non-book sanctuary? Movies. Going to the theater to sit in the dark and think about a story–it's mind-challenging and it lets me focus on just the thing in front of me for a short while. :-)leighofthestone(at)yahoo(dot)com

  10. >Any place can be my sanctuary as long as I feel comfortable, safe, and anonymous. I read voraciously as a way to decompress, but other times I love to escape to a dark, cool movie theatre and find sanctuary reveling in the adventures of others. My mind is a beautiful sanctuary that allows me to be anything I desire. I can go anywhere in my mind an know I'll always come out safe.My last favorite sanctuary is snuggling up with my husband. Nothing makes the world go away like putting my head on his shoulder and feeling his arms wrap around me.Susan email: katanilla at yahoo dot com

  11. >My sanctuary is my home. I can be myself, not have to worry about everything (much). k_anon[at]hotmail[dot]co[dot]uk

  12. >I'd have to say that thinking about my book is my sanctuary! I love lying about on my bed, with my eyes closed and my music on, just contemplating my characters, possible scenarios, anything! It's one of the few times I'm truly happy 🙂 Needless to say, I actually get very little writing done … I'm a bit of a dreamer ;)bella-on-toast@hotmail.com

  13. >My sancutuary is my writing, or my imagination, since that's where my writing stems from. I can create any world I want, do anything I want and be anyone I want. Then I can share it with others to enjoy.northcarolinaangel@hotmail.com

  14. >My sanctuary is my basement in the middle of the night. My husband snores and I learned 18+ years ago to make the best of that time by going into the basement and lifting weights. Not only am I VERY fit and strong but I have peace and quiet where I can think.My other sanctuary is my books ;).

  15. >My bedroom is my sanctuary….. I am a mom of 4 boys and with my hubby and animals I am outnumbered by the male species 8-1. I have long ago given up trying to read in the living room or to try and get a turn watching the tv most nights. So I curl up with one of the kitteh's and read quietly in my room… It is usually quiet and I have an endless availability of books available on hand or to download onto my netbook. Not much of a sanctuary but it works for me

  16. >My sanctuary are books. I can't get enough of them!Skk25@aol.com

  17. >My sanctuary is my office, with my desk and computer, surrounded by my books and things I've collected over the years, it's where I feel most at home. I spend more time there than anywhere in my house.Barbed1951(at)aol(dot)com

  18. >My sanctuary has always been books and I surround myself with them. I can sit for hours at a time and read and visit far off places, early times, etc. I become one of the characters that I am reading. A person can never be alone as long as they read.

  19. >My sanctuary…well my bedroom in general can become my sanctuary, especially when I have a book, music and sometimes my laptop, other times the laptop IS the stressor :PIf I don't feel like just relaxing in my room, sometimes I'll go outside with a book and just relax, this doesn't happen unless it's summer though usually, but still it's an option. On any day, a nice warm bubble bath with a book is the perfect sanctuary for me, the water relaxes you, the book and sometimes the bubbles amuse you…the only thing to ruin the moment at that time is if you accidentally drop your book in the tub…which I have done before :SIf I'm not in a reading mood though, my sanctuary is music and cuddling up with my dogs, a warm blanket and some tea, coffee or hot chocolate. :)Ambur (ambiepie_6(@)hotmail.com)

  20. >My sanctuary? Simple! I send myself to my room for a bit of alone time.Looking forward to this read.reenajacobs@reenajacobs.com

  21. >My Sanctuary is a good book, my little chihuahua and my bed. I curl up in my bed with a good book and my little dog.jellybelly82158 at gmail dot com

  22. >My Sanctuary is a good book, my little chihuahua and my bed. I curl up in my bed with a good book and my little dog.jellybelly82158 at gmail dot com

  23. >Anywhere, anytime, as long as I got a book.(\___/)(='.'=) (")_(") alterlisa AT yahoo DOT comhttp://lisaslovesbooksofcourse.blogspot.com

  24. >I know this is the common answer but mine is inside a good book. And if I can manage to read without or with few interruptions, even better,bacchus76 at myself dot com

  25. >I like to play in the internet. I do alot of book giveaways and twittering. Its my sanctuary.chaarmedone1512@aol.comUSA

  26. >My sanctuary is my tub – a wide, deep Japanese style tub. Peace, quiet – a lot of bubbles and a good book and I'm a happy camper.adrianecoros(at)gmail(dot)com

  27. >My sanctuary is reading – I can go anywhere!bingomamanorma(at)gmail(dot)com

  28. >My sanctuary is my study with all my books and comfy couch. It's the place I can truly get lost in the world of a book.spettolij AT gmail DOT com

  29. >If anything it's being in my balcony. My house is the center of all things hectic, mainly because everyone's so stressed, but we managed to silently agree on it even though it's clutered beyond belief with plants, there's a sense of peace in it even my mom and me can share. So she does her work and I can write all I want. Greatly silent and a place for a hobby :)legally_write[at]hotmail[dot]com

  30. >My sanctuary is in the little cubbyhouse my dad had once built back when I was 10. It's right under a large willow tree in our backyard, and surprisingly enough I still fit in there. I like to sit there in the Summer in the shade, and read or write in my journal and ponder the question of life itself. There are always a rush of memories that suddenly come flooding back and I quickly write them down, before I forget them.mashimaro_18@hotmail.com or @underhero

  31. >My Sanctuary is my bath! I can lay there in peace, in warm water with bubblebath! I can read, stare at the ceiling or just think about the days events.I love it!chidoryx AT hotmail DOT com

  32. >My sanctuary is being curled up in bed with a good book. It is relaxing and a way to take a break from life for a little bit.throuthehaze at gmail dot com

  33. >My sanctuary is my friends and my family. Sometimes that includes my books, sometimes they are my only sanctuary.

  34. >My sanctuary is my books, sometimes people can be so mean, they can betray you, they can hurt you. My only sanctuary, my best friend and my comfort are my books.callmeghostgirl@yahoo.com.au

  35. >My sanctuary is quite simply my home. Not any particular area of my home. Just “home”. I love being at home.nfmgirl AT gmail DOT com

  36. >My personal santuary is at my Mom and Dad’s farm. Just love sitting there watching and listening to nature.epblack at zoominternet dot net

  37. >My sanctuary is a book, it is the best place in which you can loose track of time.gpmargial(at)alice(dot)it

  38. >My sanctuary is my garden I love to sit outside and read when I have the chance.Thank you for this giveaway I would love to have a chance to read this book.forceofstars(at)yahoo(dot)dk

  39. >My sanctuary is my books (reading and writing). Great giveaway!DreamyCowgirl@hotmail.com

  40. >My sanctuary is camping with my husband. We go out alot, and he usually falls asleep first, so that is my me time, sitting beside a fire in the woods, love it love love it!

  41. >My sanctuary has always been books. I started reading at a young age to escape a lousy childhood and books have got me through two marriages and divorces. They have always been there for me.seriousreader at live dot com

  42. >Aside from books, my sanctuary is my study and sports.spav05(at)gmail(dot)com

  43. >My favorite place to be is on a sunny, wintry day curled up in a comfy chair by the window with the sun shining on me warming me up. I then start the fireplace and I get super warm and comfy.joderjo402 AT gmail DOT com

  44. >My sanctuary is my bedroom where I attempt to read or watch TV in peace and quietthanks for the giveawaybeckerjo(at)verizon(dot)net

  45. >My sanctuary is reading… I can't remember the last time I went a day without a book. 😛 My purse always has to be big enough to fit a book.Jixnce[at]gmail[dot]com

  46. >My sanctuary is my bedroom. I can shut out the world and lose myself in a good book. Crystal816[at]hotmail[dot}com

  47. >My sanctuary is my dinning room, where is my favorites books and dolls and my computer.noemisapi(@)gmail(.)com

  48. >My sanctuary is a day in the spa. Nice, hot bath, sauna's, eat, sleep, read, all day long!This is the best place for my stiff body to warm up and relax totally.lucybeugelingramos@gmail.com

  49. >Well of course,my favorite sanctuary is in books, anytime & just about anywhere.

  50. >My bedroom…where my stuff is, I feel safe around my things:Dthank you:)jen7waters(at)gmail(dot)com

  51. >Other than reading I like to stay up late when everyone is asleep and the house is quite and watch so good scifi/paranormal (TV or movie).eva.s.black[@]gmail[.]com

  52. >my sanctuary is getting lost in a book. I'm a stay at home mom of 3 and will sometimes stay up till 3 in the morning reading 'cause that is my only quiet time when the kids are sleeping. On my husbands day's off, I've been known to sneak my book into the bathroom and take an extra long time in their doing my "business" with the door locked just so I can have some peace 🙂

  53. >My sanctuary is my house, specifically my bedroom. I love to hole up in there with a good book, cuddle with the hubby, and shut out the rest of the world. *sigh* it's perfect!

  54. >My santuaries are walking – it's the one time I'm guaranteed to not be disturbed by the kids, and reading. I love to read in the tub, or curled up in bed.

  55. >I think other than reading i love my photoshop.When i'm sad,happy..i open my Photoshop start putting my ideas on it. I love create art. It's like you create your own little world.giota22[at]msn[dot]com

  56. >Just like for many other people, reading can be a sanctuary for me, mostly because it can make me forget the world around me. It can be an escape in that way – good or bad.The computer can also be that. A place where I can keep in contact with people around the world and often in a fun way. No drama, and if there is, then I just click a button and go to another website.mi-mi (at) tele2 (dot) se

  57. >Thanks for this giveaway! :)Hmm my sanctuary? Well to be honest, most of the times whenever I was upset or disappointed or afraid, I would always listen to music. And it would really calm me… make me feel I wasn't alone even if I was.Reading is my escape, but music is my sanctuary!! :)Kelly // yvantis@hotmail.com

  58. >My home is my sanctuary. It's peaceful and I have everything here that I need! :Psine_home@gmx.netm

  59. >Yoga is my sanctuary.jenn(at) girlsjustreading (dot) com

  60. >My sanctuary is…. a bus. Weird, huh? But it is where I can relax and find peace. What I love about buses is that even if it’s full of passengers, the people remain quiet and they mind their own business. It’s like heaven. :3isabookwhore at gmail dot com

  61. >My sanctuary is . . . music,Music fills everything around us, it helps us understand whats going on and inspirires us to strive and be curious,leanneoreilly [at] rocketmail [dot] com

  62. >My sanctuary is going for a walk. When I want to get away from everyone and everything I go for a refreshing walk and feel better when I come back!pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

  63. >My Sanctuary is gardening. When I can work in my flower beds and yard that is the most calming thing for me and I can do a lot of thinking while working.My other is reading. I have been an avid reader for over 55 yrs so I have over 1 million words for sure. lolmisskallie2000 at yahoo dot com

  64. >Other than reading, my sanctuary is gardening. chey127 at hotmail dot com

  65. >honestly my bigegst sanctuary is my bestfriend and better half he knows my well everything so when things are bad ic an run to him not say a word just sit and he makes eveyrthing ok againreading and all things book related a comfy chair a cup of my fav tea or soft drink and a cozy blanket and im good to go

  66. >well, my santuary is my room.whether i'm reading a book or just being in my computer it's the place where i can forget about everything and just relax.good i heard about the contest on time, that book sounds really great and i would love to read it.izzie_tl.blogs@hotmail.com

  67. >Besides reading I would have to say my imagination is my sanctuary. I'm what you would call a daydreamer. At night I sleep best if 20 minutes before I fall asleep I lay there day dreaming. I can become anything I want do anything I want all from the safety of my mind. It is an area no one can get into or break or make fun of. I am the storyteller during it and I am the one living the story.giveawaymommmy at yahoo.com

  68. >My bedroom is my sanctuary. It is where I can lie down and relax and read or watch a good movie.marlenebreakfield(at)yahoo(dot)com

Leave a Reply

