>Lauren Kate Feature- Review: The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove

>

by Lauren Kate

A steamy Southern beauty makes one fatal mistake…

The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove

Natalie Hargrove would kill to be her high school’s Palmetto Princess. But her boyfriend Mike King doesn’t share her dream and risks losing the honor of Palmetto Prince to Natalie’s nemesis, Justin Balmer. So she convinces Mike to help play a prank on Justin. . . one that goes terribly wrong. They tie him to the front of the church after a party—when they arrive the next morning, Justin is dead.

From blackmail to buried desire, dark secrets to darker deeds, Natalie unravels. She never should’ve messed with fate. Fate is the one thing more twisted than Natalie Hargrove.

Lauren Kate has crafted a completely plausible scenario in her modern day Gothic tale. It reads almost like a diary and makes an otherwise unlikeable protagonist, sympathetic to readers. Yes, Natalie Hargrove did a bad, bad, thing (cue Chris Isaak’s song) -but you can’t help but route for her to get away with it and succeed in her plan.
Sex, drugs, revenge, murder, social political ploys, and cover-ups…this story has it all, but not in an over the top way. It is written in a calculating way that felt more like a young adult (and PG) version of Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil. There are very real emotions conveyed in the text it just takes a little time for them to surface, but once they do it is exciting. The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove is not an after school special, it is more of a literary soap opera. But I have always had a soft spot for soaps;).
Twin Peaks meets Cruel Intentions then rendezvous with Macbeth in this seductive, riveting tale of girls with secrets and of conscience and consequence.

Visit Lauren Kate Website | Blog | Twitter

This book was purchased by Day.
http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B003JTHSRC&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrhttp://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0385738935&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrhttp://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0385739141&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

18 responses to “>Lauren Kate Feature- Review: The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove

  1. >I have been flipping through this book again, and think I need to re-write some of this review…Is it totally sad if I really relate to Natalie Hargrove? 😉

  2. >Great review! I've been meaning to read this one since being introduced to Lauren Kate (through Fallen).

  3. >Well that sounds quite different than Fallen/Torment.Something I might like.

  4. >I've been waiting for my copy of this book for months! D: It sounds like a book that's worth the wait, sounds good just from the synopsis. Plus, it's Lauren Kate!Hopefully, it will arrive and the mailmen won't steal D:

  5. >I've heard of Lauren Kate and I have really wanted to read her stuff for a long time!!!!

  6. >This book surely sounds different from the ones I like to read, but I'll give it a try anyway. I have a soft spot for soaps, too.Giada M.

  7. >Thank you so much for the review! The book seems unique and interesting!

  8. >Haven't readed it yet, but as much as I know, it's interesting.. xD

  9. >Wow, this book sounds really good. I have not had a chance to read any of Lauren Kate's books but I have been dying to read Fallen and Torment but now I can honestly say I have to add The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove to my list of must read books. Thanks for introducing me to this awesome sounding book.

  10. >"Twin Peaks meets Cruel Intentions …". Hmmm… I don't think I liked either. LOL.

  11. >I've heard of this book from one of my friends. I didn't know if I should pick it up because for one it is kind of a gothic/dark story and I didn't know I'll like it. But after reading your review and some others I definitely have to read this book of Lauren. :)It's a YA book, and I lile YA books, specially if they come with some mystery in it.Thanks for posting this review. It definitely helps the readers what to read next.

  12. >This was the first Lauren Kate book I heard of, even though I still I haven't read it! But this review makes me want to read it, it sounds more exciting than Fallen does.

  13. >I hadn't heard of it but sounds really amazing.This will definitively to my must-read list.

  14. >Great review! I hadn't heard of this book till now but it sounds really good! I don't think there's anything wrong with relating to Natalie!

  15. >LOL- I always sympathize with the naughty girls. I don't think they're bad, just misunderstood;)I'm sure there is some deep psycholgical reasoning behind it. But I like bad girls with a heart, I see myself in them, I guess.

  16. >I never watched Twin Peaks (It was on when I was learning to walk), but Cruel Intentions meets Macbeth sounds good to me.I'll be honest, I passed this book up time and again because I didn't like the cover, but the synopsis sounds really good and I loved your review.

  17. >It will be interesting to see how the author redeems Natalie, if she does.

  18. >I havne't read this one yet but it does sound very interesting. Let's hope I win the free books, but if not I will def put on my to read list.

Leave a Reply

