>Tween Review: Beastly by: Alex Flinn

>

By: Alex Flinn

BeastlyI am a beast.

A beast. Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new creature who walks upright—a creature with fangs and claws and hair springing from every pore. I am a monster.

You think I’m talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It’s no deformity, no disease. And I’ll stay this way forever—ruined—unless I can break the spell.

Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I’ll tell you. I’ll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and the perfect life. And then, I’ll tell you how I became perfectly . . . beastly.

For those of you who, like me, were late to hop on the Beastly band wagon…you didn’t miss much. Let me recap real quick- Beastly is a 2007 novel by Alex Flinn and is a retelling of the fairytale “Beauty and the Beast” set in modern-day New York City. If you are already familiar with “Beauty and the Beast” than you pretty much know how this story goes. The re-telling stays really close to the original storyline and therefore there weren’t any major surprises or events in the plot that kept me wanting to read faster so I could find out what happened next.

It is pretty obvious that the author researched many different folktales and fairy tales to write her book, and for that she gets my respect. There are several different moments where these other tales are playfully hinted to in parts of the book, particularly the chat room transcripts (which are funny) in which the character of Kyle (aka Adrian, the Beast) talks to other teens who have been transformed into creatures and there are even cameo appearances by other favorite fairytale characters…my favorite is the mermaid from Denmark;).

Beastly was a good story and I appreciate and enjoyed that it was told from “The Beast’s” male perspective, but I just wasn’t blown away by this book. It was too familiar for me personally. I have several friends who highly recommend and LOVE this book, so it definitely has a big following, it’s just not for me. It is well written, with interesting characters (particularly Kendra-the Witch) but I would have preferred the story more if it had ventured a bit more off of the already laid path.
Nice book, but I think it belongs in a home with a reader who will cherish it. So, I will pass it on to someone who will really love it.

Peace & Love
~Desilula

This book was purchased by Desi.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0061998664&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

5 responses to “>Tween Review: Beastly by: Alex Flinn

  1. >I agree it was not extraordinary but I did like it. Male perspectives are hardly used and so I did enjoy that factor. I read this one just recently because I seen the trailer for BEastly, the movie and loved it!!

  2. >I also found it to hohum but liked the chat room scenes with the other characters.

  3. >That’s the first time I’ve heard anything negative about this book. I haven’t read it yet but it sounds interesting so it’s in the TBR pile…..but maybe I won’t rush to read it.I do love male POV’s though!!Thanks for being honest!

  4. >I haven’t read this book, but I’ve been wanting to for a long time. The fact that it has a male’s POV is kinda intriguing.Thanks for the review!

  5. >Great review Desi!

Leave a Reply

