>Q & A with Afterlight’s author Elle Jasper (Giveaway)

>Everyone please welcome Elle Jasper back to Paperback Dolls! Elle is here on her second visit to answer some questions about her debut urban fantasy, Afterlight, releasing tomorrow and give one lucky follower a chance to win a signed copy.


Elle Jasper spent her youth buried in the pages of Mary Shelly, Edgar Allen Poe, Bram Stoker, and Stephen King. Growing up on the salt marshes of Savannah, Georgia, she was always fascinated by the city’s ancient cobblestones, eerie church spires and Gothic Revival architect—as well as the dark, not-so-publicized side of Savannah, both steeped in tumultuous history. After an education at Armstrong Atlantic University, she forged her love of Gothic literature with an active imagination to pen her own stories. She is now a full time writer and lives amidst the moss and shadows of Savannah.

Hi Elle! The girls and I would like to welcome you back to Paperback Dolls!

Hey Everyone! Thanks so much and I’m happy to hang out with you at PBD!!!

Would you tell our readers a little more about your novel Afterlight and your series the Dark Ink Chronicles? Do you know how many books in the Dark Ink Chronicles your planning to use to bring Riley’s story to light?

Oh yeah! So far, 3 books are set for The Dark Ink Chronicles: Afterlight, Everdark, Eventide (which I’m writing now!). Set in my city of Savannah, Afterlight is the first book in The Dark Ink Chronicles. The story revolves around the protagonist, Riley Poe, who was a stinker of a kid. I’m talking troubled teen to the nth degree. Drugs. Sex. Gangs. Fighting. Juvy. Jail. It wasn’t until an obsessed boyfriend murdered Riley’s mother–whom Riley found, strangled in her bath tub–that kicked Riley into gear. Along with her brother, they were left to be raised by her mother’s employers and closest friends: a Gullah root doctor and his wife who owns a potions shop on River Street. (Gullah is a culture of folk descended from the African slaves who escaped to the barrier islands off the coast of southern Georgia and South Carolina) When Riley’s kid brother gets involved with a prank at Bonaventure Cemetery, and inadvertently set free an entombed pair of evil strigoi vampiric brothers, the city’s youth become the target of a vampire uprising. Unbeknownst to Riley, a family of “guardians” have resided in Savannah for nearly three centuries. The Dupres, vampires theselves, made a pact with the Gullah to keep the city safe in return for “humane nourishment”. Now Riley’s brother is in the “quickening”, soon to become a bloodsucker, and Riley must join forces with the Dupres to save him and the other teens from becoming the living dead! Riley, though, has wicked-drugging blood to a vampire, and her Gullah “grandfather” has been keeping it masked for years to keep her safe. When Riley encounters the Dupres eldest son, Eli? Sparks fly and sizzle! And so begins the first book!

We read in your guest post for our Passport to Georgia feature that you named Riley’s shop after a real tattoo shop in Savannah called “Inksomnia” Why did you choose for Riley to be a tattoo shop owner and artist? Is there any significance to her beautiful dragon tattoo?

Actually, the tattoo shop is a little ways out of Savannah, in Alpharetta (which is between here and Atlanta!) and yeah, the owner, Mike, was really cool and happy to lend me his tat shop name. I’d been researching other names, just to get the feel of what I wanted, and when I came across Inksomnia, my brain shut down. I wanted that name! 🙂 So I emailed Mike. He’s really cool, they have a kick-butt shop, and I hope to get over there soon to meet them! I guess I chose for Riley to be a tat shop owner/artist because I find the art of tattooing fascinating myself. And I believe it’d be a tough profession for a woman to be in, especially to be in control of, like in her own shop. I also love the personal expression the tattoos give to people. Riley’s dragons stand for power and protection. Since she had such a rough childhood, was abandoned by her father, then her mother murdered, she wanted empowerment. To her, the dragons stand for that. (all that actually comes out in the third book!)

When our readers finally have the chance to read Afterlight for themselves, they will find out about Riley’s troubled and rebellious past. Does Riley mirror your own life’s story or somebody you know?

They will find a young woman who overcame a lot of !@#$!! to be in the place she is today. Riley’s life doesn’t mirror mine at all, other than I ‘d LOVE to be able to kick vampire ass like she does later down the road! Lol! But on a serious note, the first aspect of her person came to me because of a friend I once had growing up. She was a few years older than me, and while in highschool she’d had a boyfriend her mother did not approve of. Bad guy. The mother tried to keep them apart, tried to make them break up. The guy murdered my friend’s mom, and my friend, like Riley, was the one to find her. I didn’t know my friend at the time it had happened–only after. And my friend was a strong, strong person. I haven’t seen or talked to her in years as we grew up and apart, went differnt directions. But I will never, ever forget her. Riley has that strength.

In Afterlight, Riley finds out that we’re not as alone as she’s always believed. Why did you choose vampires instead of say… the Fae? Or will we be seeing some more otherworldly creatures in Riley’s future? Lol! I LOVE vampires! But hopefully you will be seeing a few more otherworldly creatures in Riley’s future! I wuld love to go beyond three books with her!

We know your busy right now with the debut of Afterlight tomorrow and then Everdark (June 2011) and Eventide not that far behind next year, but are there any other series or genres your just itching to dive into?

Itching and diving as we speak! I have several YA ideas/proposals on the board right now, and a few more ideas cooking. I’d love to contract in that genre as most of my reading these days is there. For the exception of Stephen King. LOVE Stephen!!!

How do you keep track of your world building? Are you a plotter, pantser, or a combination?

Definitely a conrolled combinationist! Lol! I start out with a detailed outline. Then I break the book, by the outline, into 10 parts (or chapters) and title each. The title encases the main gist in the part. Accidentals occur along the way, ie: characters on the spot! In book tow, Everdark, you’ll meet “Noah Miles”. He is one of those accidentals who just popped onto the page with no plans! To this day he is one of my favorites. So while I know where the story is going, and I follow my synopsis, I do have a lot of pantser moments. 🙂 They’re fun! And I keep a running notebook of info and tidbits, so when I’m creating I’ll have a log so hopefully I won’t contradict myself! EEK!

With all the social networks, friends, family and obligations, what would you say interrupts or interferes with your writing the most?

This right here: B-R-I-A-N. My husband. LOL! He works out of town in spurts of months. I write a LOT when he’s gone. But then he comes home. For months. When he’s home? Distraction! Even though he leaves me alone to write, I KNOW he’s THERE. LOL!

What would you like people to know about you?

When I’m on deadline and stressed out, I BAKE. ALOT. I love to bake! As a matter of fact, I’d once wanted to open a bakery. God, I love a bakery! I also love to be scared MINDLESS. Sets me off into a laugh-fit! I love movies, I have my favorites that my kids and I have watched REPEATEDLY over the years. Back to the Future. Indiana Jones. Young Guns. ALL THINGS SPOOKY AND SCARY!

We’re all book lovers here, so we just have to know; what books are on your “To Be Read” pile?
Firelight

Man, I love me some BOOKS!!!! Right now I’m reading the FABULOUS Firelight by Sophie Jordan. Next in line: The Replacement. Beautiful Creatures. Fallen. Paranormalcy. So many juicy hardbacks I can’t WAIT to get reading!!!!

And because we are the Paperback Dolls, we can’t just let you get away without answering a couple of Paperback Proust questions now can we? LOL! No! Shoot!

What is your greatest fear?

I have two: Shark attack and bear mauling. I’m obsessed with both. Shark week in August I’m glued to Discovery. LOVE the salt water. Aint gettin’ in it! LOL! LOVE to hike but will only do so in Scotland, England and Wales where there ARE NO BEARS!!!! Yet I’d love to PET ONE! They have such CUTE fuzzy EARS!!! EEEK!

Who is your favorite fictional hero?

There are two off the top of my head, probably two dozen more I’ll think about today and go DOH! Lol! Um…Seely Booth from BONES and Indiana Jones from…Indiana Jones. Lol!

Who are some of your real life heroes?

My grandfather, no longer with me, was a WWII soldier. I think Soldiers in general are my heroes. Firemen/Firewomen. Police officers. They do things most wouldn’t even consider. Thank God we have them!

What is your most treasured possession?

My pictures. Pics of my kids when they were little. Pics of my grandparents when they first met. Of my mom when she was little. My family. 🙂

What is your chief characteristic?

Generosity, I think.

What is your main fault?

I’m always frickin’ LATE!!!

What do you appreciate the most in your friends?

We all accept our faults and still love each other regardless. And we’re all retarded. Can I say retarded without getting in trouble?

How would you wish to die?

In my sleep. And not for another 50 years or so. It’d be cool to make it to 100. But I want to KNOW I’m making it to 100!!!

What is your motto?

Take care of your own shi- !!

Thank you so much for visiting with us again Elle! We had a wonderful time and your welcomed to come back anytime!

Thanks so much, guys, for having me! I love PBD and would love to return anytime!!!!

Find Elle Jasper:

~*~*~*~*Afterlight Giveaway!!*~*~*~*~

*THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED*

Elle is offering ONE signed copy of AFTERLIGHT to ONE lucky follower. All you have to do is answer what you would do if you found out that vampires were real?

This contest is international and we will always give you more ways to win:

+1 for each place you post about today’s contest on your blog, social network, or anywhere you can. Digg it, stumble it, twit it, share it with the world. Wherever you share it, make sure you add a link to it along with your comment.

+1 subscribe to Paperback Dolls – either via a reader or email (see the RSS button at the top of the right sidebar or the entry form to the left sidebar.)

Giveaway ends November 13th and the winner will be chosen by random.org on November 14th. We ask the winners to post a review of the novel someplace. Whether it is on their own blog, Amazon, GoodReads, LibraryThing or wherever, it doesn’t matter. Just help get the word out. Also, we will try to contact the winners, but we ask that you check back to see if you’ve won.

Leave a Reply

