>Tween Review- Awakened by Ednah Walters

>

Awakened (Book One of the Guardian Legacy)Most teens turn sixteen and get the license to drive, but Lil Falcon gets the license to kill demons. Orphaned as a child and raised by an eccentric grandfather, Lil is concerned with surviving high school and is unaware that she’s a Guardian-a being with super powers charged with killing demons and protecting humanity. When she meets Bran, a mysterious boy with amazing abilities, his psi energy unlocks her latent powers. But Bran has a secret that can ruin their growing relationship, and the truth she discovers may destroy everything she believes in unless she finds the right balance between love and sacrifice.

As a young adult I must admit…the cover to this book threw me a little. It seemed kinda cheesey and I didn’t want to take it to school because I just knew someone would say something and tease me. But…don’t judge a book by it’s cover definitely applies to this story and the cover doesn’t do the character it depicts justice…because Bran is smokin hot and anything BUT cheesey!

Awakened is like a mash up of all the things I liked about some of my other favorite YA books. It has angels, demons, love, friendship, evil villains, magical powers, and family issues. The main character Lil Falcon is strong and independent but also more caring of the others around her than other heroines. She really cares about her friends and family and isn’t whiny…I really liked that. I also really liked the family dynamic between Lil and her guardian (Grampa). It is really touching and sweet and makes me wish my own Grampa was still alive so I could learn things from him. The supporting characters are also interesting and I’m not quite sure about any of them. What I mean is, I think they are good, but you never know with these types of stories.:)

There were a few things I wasn’t crazy about. For instance… there is so much going on, that there were some scenes that seemed a little choppy and didn’t flow as nicely with everything that was happening. I am hoping that it’s only because this is the authors debut book and that things will only get better from here on out.  I really cannot wait to find out what happens next!

Awakened is like House of Night, The Mortal Instruments and Twilight stories all mixed up into one book…how cool is that?

Peace & Love
~Desilula

Please visit the authors WEBSITE to learn more about her and her books!
http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=1617060380&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

Leave a Reply

