>Fairy Tale Week: Author Jill Myles on fairytales, zombies and well meaning fairy-godmothers!

>

Jill Myles has been an incurable romantic since childhood. She reads all the ‘naughty parts’ of books first, looks for a dirty joke in just about everything, and thinks to this day that the Little House on the Prairie books should have been steamier.
After devouring hundreds of paperback romances, mythology books, and archaeological tomes, she decided to write a few books of her own – stories with a wild adventure, sharp banter, and lots of super-sexy situations. She prefers her heroes alpha and half-dressed, her heroines witty, and she loves nothing more than watching them overcome adversity to fall into bed together.
She wasn’t born with a pen in her hand, like most writers. Jill did stick the occasional crayon up her nose, but she eventually grew out of that.
Mostly.

In honor of Fairytale Week we decided to create a few Paperback Proust questions that focus on fairytales! Our guest todays is Jill Myles, author of the wonderful Succubus Diaries – When the dolls noticed that she has published an e-book of zombie fairytales – we knew we had to have her over at the dollhouse!

Zombie Fairy Tales
Zombie Fairytales

Dolls: Ok, so most obvious question – why zombie fairytales? How did you come up with that idea and why?

JM: It started out as a conversation between friends, actually! I don’t remember what we were discussing, but I was chatting with a friend of mine via email and we came on the subject of zombies, and I think we mentioned princesses. After that, I couldn’t get the idea of zombie Cinderella out of my mind, and so I wrote it just for fun. Everyone loved it, so I wrote a few more. 🙂

Of course, now it’s going to bother me that I can’t remember what it was that prompted a conversation about ‘zombies’ and ‘princesses’.

Dolls: What is your favorite fairytale?

JM: I really, really love the King Thrushbeard fairy tale…either that or Beauty and the Beast. I recently read BOOK OF A THOUSAND DAYS and fell in love with the Maid Maleen fairy tale as well.

Dolls: Fairytale you never liked?

JM: I dislike intensely The Little Mermaid. The movie is great, but the fairy tale itself is not like the movie. Horrible ending and a total screw-over for the heroine. Pass!

Dolls: Chief characteristic in Fairytale hero?

JM: Larger than life, I think. Maybe so large that they’re almost a parody of themselves. Though it depends on if we’re making him Prince Charming or more Gaston. I suppose it depends on the context. 🙂

Dolls: Chief characteristic in Fairytale heroine?

JM: I like to see the heroine protag herself out of situations. I think that’s why some fairy tales are great in that aspect (like The Seven Swans or Bluebeard’s Wife) and some are really wretched in that aspect (like Rapunzel). If she can’t save herself, Prince Charming’s not going to fix everything, you know?

Dolls: If you could choose to change one fairytale which would it be and how?

JM: Oh wow. I don’t think I could change just one – I think I’d like to rewrite a lot of them. Can I do that?

*Dolls nod like crazy women – we know Day loves her bastardized fairytales – rewrite away!*

Dolls: Most evil fairytale character?

Sleeping Beauty (Special Edition)
Sleeping Beauty –
shenanigans and well meaning
fairy godmothers

JM: Sleeping Beauty’s fairy godmother, because the worst sort of evil is the one that means well. Though Rumplestiltskin holds a close second, I imagine.

Dolls: You wake up in a fairytale – who are you and which fairytale is it?

JM: I’d probably end up as a Goose Girl or a Match Girl. Somehow I suspect I would not be a princess. 😉

Dolls: It says in your bio that you like to read the naughty bits of the books first – which do you think would make the naughtiest fairytale? 😀

JM: Sleeping Beauty, probably. There’s some nasty shenanigans that can go along with that one!

*Dolls Snicker*

Dolls: Succubus Diaries are contracted for 4 books… Do you have plans for a new series? More of Jackie? Spinoff?

JM: Actually they’re only contracted for three at the moment. After MY FAIR SUCCUBI, I have a different sort of book coming out that’s not a series. And I would love to write more Jackie and would especially love to write some spinoff succubi, but we have to see how the books are doing first. If my numbers are terrible, I wouldn’t blame my publisher for not wanting more books. So right now I’m in a wait-and-see, though I’m hopeful for more all around. 🙂

*Dolls keeping those fingers crossed* People – go get these books!!!!

Dolls: Can you tell us anything about My Fair Succubi?

My Fair SuccubiJM: It’s pretty much full of awesome! (Just kidding) I will say that it is not the end of the series, though there are some decisions made and one character walks off of stage. Jackie discovers the truth about why she is turned, Remy has issues, and halos pop up again. It was a really fun book to write, and I hope people like it and hope they like how the storyline goes. 🙂

The Dolls would like to thank Jill Myles for being here for Fairytale Week!
Best of luck with the new book! My Fair Succubi will be in stores on December 28th 2010

For more information about Jill and her books visit her website here

*~*~Gentlemen Prefer Succubi Giveaway~*~*

So, earlier this week we asked what your favorite fairytale is and why, well, now we want to know – who is your all time favorite Fairytale villain? Jill Myles has very kindly offered one copy of Gentlemen Prefer Succubi to the lucky winner! So go on! Comment!
Gentlemen Prefer Succubi (Succubus Diaries)
Good luck!!!!
This giveaway is US only!
Competition ends December 5th
Winner to be announced on the 6th! Start commenting!

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=1416572821&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=141657283X&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=143918819X&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

Leave a Reply

