>Review: Night’s Cold Kiss by Tracey O’Hara

>

[Dark Brethren 1]
Night's Cold Kiss: A Dark Brethren Novel
The tension between the Aeternus, an ancient vampiric people, and humanity has been mounting for over a century. But when rogue vampires begin to drain humans in order to achieve an illegal blood-high, all bets are off.

After the death of her parents, Antoinette Petrescu devoted her life to becoming one of the top Venators, the elite hunters who destroy the rogue Necrodreniacs. Her kill count is legendary and her skills superb.

But now the serial killer who killed her parents has returned. And to stop him Antoinette must join forces not only with the Aeternus, but also their most legendary killer. One that is both dangerously attractive, and involved in buried secrets of her past. More dangerous still, a dark attraction grows between them–one that could doom both races.

Have you ever bought a book and let it sit on your shelf for an overly long period of time? Or maybe you actually started reading said book, but for one reason or another you just couldn’t get into it? This happened to me with the first in Tracey O’Hara’s Dark Brethren series, Night’s Cold Kiss. It was more the latter than the former that applies here, though. I bought this book when it first came out over a year ago, and I must of started it because a bookmark still held my last stopping place, but I’m unsure why I didn’t continue. When I started over again this time, I disregarded my previous stopping point and ended up devouring this book. I was wrong to let it sit for so long unread.

Night’s Cold Kiss surrounds Antoinette Pretrescu a human venator working with the NCB (Necrodreniac Control Branch) and Christian Laroque an Aeternus who’s looking to keep The Troubles from starting up again when murders surface that carry a similar MO of a notorious and very dead serial killer Dante Rubins. As the murders continue, there random nature shows it’s purpose, but Antoinette’s far more interested in the dead Aeternus that killed her mother.

What I liked the most about Night’s Cold Kiss was the mechanics of the world Ms. O’Hara has created. There’s actually so much detail that it requires the use of a glossary in the back and let me tell you, you’re going to need it. As a side note: It actually bothers me that they locate such an important plot device in the back of a book, because in Night’s Cold Kiss, if you don’t know it’s there (much like me) then you’ll end up lost. I mean who checks the back of a book when reading it for the first time?

In Ms.O’Hara’s world Aeternus (vampires), Animalians (this include ursians (man-bear) canians (man-dog) felians (man-cat) and more )and humans all walk the earth along side each other. After The Troubles, the CHaPR (think like the UN) Treaty was signed for an uneasy truce between the races. The Guild (founded by humans for protection against parahumans) have and created venators like Antoinette and the Department of Parahuman Security (or Department) has Intel Agents like Christian to help keep Necodreniacs (deranged vampires looking for a death-high or fear-high) off the streets.

Night’s Cold Kiss‘s story was well written and, from a third person’s pov, the characters came to life. You are there with Antoinette when she meets with ghosts from her past, when she makes important decisions, and goes through some the most heinous acts put upon a person to deal with. And, readers are there with Christian as he fights for his friends, his nature and eventually his love for Antoinette. Ms.O’Hara’s introductory into her Dark Brethren novels was a success in my eyes. Her bold, sexy, and sometimes very dark tale catches hold of you and I think it will appeal to fans of Jeaniene Frost and Jocelynn Drake alike. I don’t know what I was thinking to let this book go for so long, but I’m glad I gave it that second chance.

Dark Brethren
Night’s Cold Kiss-September 1, 2009
Death’s Sweet Embrace-January 25, 2011

Find Tracey O’hara:
Website | Facebook | Twitter
Multi-Author Blog:Dark Side DownUnder
Multi-Author Blog:Supernatural Underground

Book purchased by KittNLuv.
http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0061783137&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s