>Month of Love Guest Blog & Giveaway: Extreme Snow Anyone? by Karin Tabke (Karin Harlow)

>

*Giveaway Now Closed*

Hello lovers! Doll Day here. Extreme Snow Anyone?

Well, just about everyone I care about in other states has been hit by the “Snowpocalypse” or ‘Snownomi” or my favorite term for the weather lately, the “SnOMG” storm. Though my state hasn’t been affected with the heavy snowfall, we have been dealing with unseasonably cold and freezing temperatures. Perfect weather for reading right?

I will confess, I am not the avid romance reader that some of the other dolls are, I do have some favorite love stories and the one that always leaps to mind when the weather turns cold is “Dr. Zhivago” by Boris Pasternak. If you want a snowy type of epic romance you can’t get much better than this fabulous story. But that got me thinking…what do today’s romance writers think of the weather we’ve been having lately? Does it influence their writing habits or inspire romantic settings for their stories?

So, we touched base with paranormal romance author Karin Tabke (Harlow) and thought we’d ask her to weigh in…

Hello Paperback Dolls!

Thank you for having me today! And since snow seems to be so much a part of everyone’s life right now, tell me: How many feet are you under? And how the heck do you cope with it? You see, I can’t relate. I’m in Northern California and today it’s going to hit a sunny 70 degrees! By Sunday, we’re looking at 75, and they say even warmer on Monday!

I’ll be spending the weekend in a spacious villa not too far from my house with 9 other writers. I know, it’s a rough life I lead. Actually, it’s going to be a straight working weekend for me. I’m very behind on my writing, and I can not wait to get away from the 3 dogs, and 2 cats that own my soul!

Now don’t get me wrong, it’s not always sunshine and villas here in California. We get rain. Some years a lot of rain, and in the summer time where I live, 100+ degrees is a regular occurrence. But, we don’t get the humidity. It’s nice dry heat. Closer to the coast the cooler it is, but still, no humidity. All and all the weather here is great. And once you live here, it’s hard to think of leaving. But if I could leave, I’d go east to the Carolinas and settle along the Atlantic coast. Hurricanes don’t scare me. I was born in southern Florida and remember them vividly. Out here we have earthquakes. They aren’t a big deal. Even the big one in ’89 when the ground was shaking and shifting under my feet, didn’t bother me. We get a rare thunderstorm, no tornadoes, and well, again, it’s pretty nice all the way around.

I mean we have Napa just an hour away, San Francisco less than an hour away, Tahoe is just up the road and over the Sierras and then there is the breathtaking Carmel and Monterrey coastline just down the road. I love it here. But again, as much as I love it, the south calls to me.

What about you? Do you live in your dream place? If not, what romantic locale would you live in if you could live anywhere in the United States?

I’ll pick one lucky commenter to win a copy of one of my backlist!

~*~*~*~*~*Giveaway*~*~*~*~*~

Like Karin said, she’s offering YOUR choice of her back-list as Karin Harlow or Karin Tabke to ONE lucky US commenter. All you need to do to win is answer the question from her post. {Full Book List}

Enemy LoverMaster of Surrender (Blood Sword Legacy, Book 1)Good Girl Gone Bad (Hot Cops, Book 1)What You Can't See

More ways to win:

+1 for each place you post about today’s contest on your blog, social network, or anywhere you can. Digg it, stumble it, twit it, share it with the world. Wherever you share it, make sure you add a link to it along with your comment.

Giveaway ends March 7th and the winner will be chosen by random.org on March 8th. We ask the winners to post a review of the novel someplace. Whether it is on their own blog, Amazon, GoodReads, LibraryThing or wherever, it doesn’t matter. Just help get the word out. Also, we will try to contact the winners, but we ask that you check back to see if you’ve won.

For a long time, controlled chaos ruled Karin’s life. Busy mother of four, owner of her own successful business and wife to a street cop, she harbored thoughts of twisting plots and hot romantic scenes. Now, with only one child left at home and hubby retired from law enforcement, Karin happily pounds out those steamy scenes at her keyboard.

Still semi-distracted by her adult children (Yay! no more phone calls from the high school!) and her husband now a successful football coach (Yay! No more worrying when he’s out on the street!), Karin turns out stories about hot cops, bold knights, bad boy werewolves, and the women who bring them to their knees.

A full-time writer, Karin draws on a lifetime of stories and backdrops that few outside of the law enforcement community ever see, let alone hear about. Controlled chaos now reins supreme through the pages she writes where hot heroes serve, protect, and pleasure from page one to The End.

Karin also writes paranormal romantic suspense as Karin Harlow.

Find Karin Tabke:
Check out BAD TO THE BONE out now and BLOOD LAW out May 3rd!
Leave a Reply

