>Month of Love Guest Blog & Giveaway: The Many Facets of Falling in Love by Julia London

>

*Giveaway Now Closed*

Everyone please welcome historical and contemporary romance author Julia London to Paperback Dolls! Her new contemporary romance, A LIGHT AT WINTER’S END, is due to release February 22, 2011!

The Many Facets of Falling in Love

A few years ago, I did something to my back. The pain was constant and deep—I felt it in my sleep, when I walked, and when I sat. I finally went to a doctor, and then a neurosurgeon, and then to a surgery ward, because I had a herniated a disk that was starting to rupture.

I remember when I awoke from the surgery, pain free, and the surgeon was standing there, I fell in love. In that moment, I would have married that man. I would have washed his clothes and made his supper and polished his golf balls. It passed pretty quickly, but the depth of my relief-fueled love was pretty intense for a few minutes there.

When I was a little girl, maybe five, I really wanted this Madame Alexander doll I had seen. We didn’t have a lot of money, and as I was the third of four kids, the answer was no. I must have really wanted it, because my mother surprised me with the doll.

I fell in love with my mother. I already loved her, of course, but when she gave me that doll, the one thing on this earth that I coveted, I fell in love with her all over again.

I won’t even try and count how many times I fell in love with boys and men, because it’s embarrassing. But I will admit that even though I am happily married, I am currently totally in love with Colin Firth.

In A Light at Winter’s End, there are a lot of people falling in love. Jesse Wheeler is in love with life and probably himself. Holly Fisher falls in love with a baby that is not hers. Wyatt Clark lost his love and now only loves his dog Milo, and his baby that he only sees on weekends. Hannah Drake loves her son so much that she makes the most difficult decision of her life, with repercussions for everyone in her life. And everyone in Cedar Springs, Texas, loves gossip.

All of these people have their issues with love, both good and bad, and moreover, their loves intersect, sometimes creating conflict. But the wily thing about love is that sometimes you win…and sometimes you don’t. And in A Light at Winter’s End, there are winners…and there are losers.

How many times and ways have you fallen in love? What is the great love of your life now? Would you love to win a signed copy of Summer of Two Wishes, which is the story of how Wyatt Clark lost his love and is a prequel of sorts to A Light at Winter’s End?

Thank you so much for having me here today. I hope you enjoy the book and I hope you are lucky in love! Julia

~*~*~*~*~*Giveaway*~*~*~*~*~

Today, Julia is offering up ONE signed copy of SUMMER OF TWO WISHES to ONE lucky US reader. All you have to do is answer the questions from her post.

Whose wife was she?

Macy Lockhart’s life shattered in a moment with the news that her husband, Finn–serving in the military overseas–has been killed in the line of duty. Their ardent and devoted marriage is over, leaving Macy alone and directionless. But while she tries to sustain herself with memories of Finn, the quiet, strong man who made her and their small Texas ranch the center of his life, it is wealthy Wyatt Clark who slowly brings joy back into heBook Club!r life. Her love for Wyatt may be less romantic than the breathless passion she’d once shared with Finn, but she vows to cherish him, and their marriage is happy and solid as a rock. Until the day that Finn, miraculously spared from death, returns home to claim his bride…

How can a woman choose between the two men she loves? And how will she make the right choice–for herself and everyone involved?

More ways to win:

+1 for each place you post about today’s contest on your blog, social network, or anywhere you can. Digg it, stumble it, twit it, share it with the world. Wherever you share it, make sure you add a link to it along with your comment.

Giveaway ends March 7th and the winner will be chosen by random.org on March 8th. We ask the winners to post a review of the novel someplace. Whether it is on their own blog, Amazon, GoodReads, LibraryThing or wherever, it doesn’t matter. Just help get the word out. Also, we will try to contact the winners, but we ask that you check back to see if you’ve won.

Contemporary:
Summer of Two WishesA Light at Winter's EndOne Season of Sunshine

Historical:
The Book of ScandalHighland Scandal (Scandalous 2)A Courtesan's Scandal (Scandalous 3)

Julia London is the New York Times and USA Today best selling author of more than a twenty romantic fiction novels. She is the author of the popular Desperate Debutante and Scandalous historical romance series, as well as The Year of Living Scandalously, the first novel in the Secrets of Hadley Green series.

She is also the author of several contemporary women’s fiction novels with strong romantic elements, including Summer of Two Wishes, One Season of Sunshine, and the upcoming Light at Winter’s End.

Julia is the recipient of the RT Bookclub Award for Best Historical Romance and a four-time finalist for the prestigious RITA award for excellence in romantic fiction. She lives in Round Rock, Texas, with her husband. To keep up with all the Julia London news and excerpts, please visit http://www.julialondon.com.

Find Julia London:
Leave a Reply

