>Month of Love Guest Blog & Giveaway: Why Every Day is Valentine’s Day with My Husband by Jennifer Ashley (Allyson James/Ashley Gardner)

>

*Giveaway Now Closed*

Everyone please welcome paranormal and historical romance author, Jennifer Ashley (aka Urban Fantasy author, Allyson James and mystery author, Ashley Gardner) to Paperback Dolls!

Monday was Valentine’s Day, and you might think that a romance author and her husband celebrate V Day in style: wining, dining, flowers, chocolates, and slinky lingerie.

We don’t (my husband just refuses to wear slinky lingerie, for some reason).

But seriously, the two of us have never been big on the candlelight dinners with champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries. We’re more into pizza and an episode of Burn Notice. (Hey, snuggling down together under a blanket to watch some kick-butt action can be cozy on a winter evening.)

I can honestly say, despite having been a romance author for about a decade now, that I’m not the romantic type.

At least not romance as traditionally defined. On the other hand, many people have told me that my husband and I are very romantic. And we are, but it’s not about clinking champagne flutes in front of a roaring fire (we don’t even have a fireplace).

The top ten reasons that I consider that every day is Valentine’s Day with my husband:

10. When I met him (I was 18), and I told him: “I wanna be a writer!” he married me anyway.

9. We say, “I love you,” every day, at least once. Usually more often.

8. We kiss goodbye, we kiss hello, we kiss goodnight. (Not good morning, because—you know, wait until after the mouthwash.)

7. My husband surprises me with random gifts or cards, tucked into my purse or left on my keyboard—“just because.”

6. I send flowers or cookies to him at his office—“just because.”

5. We’re best friends and can talk to each other about anything, anytime.

4. I grill him constantly about the male point of view on everything from cars to jobs to sex, to get my heroes right—and he doesn’t mind.

3. He reads my romance novels and even likes them (though he draws the line at m/m erotic romance; no Allyson James’s Mortal Seductions for him).

2. He listens to me go on and on (and on, and on) about the publishing industry without shutting me off.

And the number one reason I consider that every day is Valentine’s Day with my husband:

1. We’re still together, after all this time, and all we’ve been through (and it’s been a lot).

No candlelight needed (well, except for during that four-state blackout).

~*~*~*~*~*Giveaway!*~*~*~*~*~

Today, Jennifer is offering up ONE signed copy of ANY book from her BACKLIST books, under any name, to ONE lucky US  commenter!

The Pirate Next DoorConfessions Of A Lingerie AddictStormwalker (Stormwalker Series, Book 1)Mortal TemptationsDragon Heat (Dragon Series, Book 1)Rees: Tales of the ShareemThe Hanover Square Affair

More ways to win:

+1 for each place you post about today’s contest on your blog, social network, or anywhere you can. Digg it, stumble it, twit it, share it with the world. Wherever you share it, make sure you add a link to it along with your comment.

Giveaway ends March 7th and the winner will be chosen by random.org on March 8th. We ask the winners to post a review of the novel someplace. Whether it is on their own blog, Amazon, GoodReads, LibraryThing or wherever, it doesn’t matter. Just help get the word out. Also, we will try to contact the winners, but we ask that you check back to see if you’ve won.

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author Jennifer Ashley has lived and traveled all over the world, and now lives in the Southwest. She writes historical, paranormal, and contemporary romance as Jennifer Ashley; mysteries as Ashley Gardner; and paranormal romance and urban fantasy as Allyson James.

Jennifer’s/Allyson’s/Ashley’s novels have won RWA’s RITA award, the Golden Quill, RT Reviewer’s Choice awards, and the Prism award, among others. Jennifer’s novels have been also been translated into nearly a dozen European and Asian languages.

Jennifer enjoys writing and reading above all else, but her hobbies include cooking, hiking, playing flute and guitar, painting, and building miniature rooms and dollhouses.

Find Jennifer Ashley:
Check out PRIMAL BONDS on March 1, 2011.
Leave a Reply

