>Month of Love Guest Blog & Giveaway: Bad to the Bone by Kendra Leigh Castle

>

*Giveaway Now Closed*

Everyone please welcome Kendra Leigh Castle to Paperback Dolls! Kendra’s new book, RENEGADE ANGEL, hit bookshelves last September and you have a chance to win a copy of your very own after her post about one of my favorite topics: the bad boy! 😉

Cue the guitar riff! And now that you all have the appropriate theme song for this post stuck in your heads, I’m going to come right out and say it: I’m not big on nice guy heroes. Not that I’ve never read one I liked, and I’ve even written a couple (I can handle the niceness a lot better if the guy, say, has a tendency to grow fur at the full moon). But my heart, now and always, has belonged to the bad boys of fiction. The brooding, morally ambiguous guy who probably wears lots of black and can cut a person to ribbons with nothing more than his sharp tongue. The tortured werewolf/vampire/fallen angel/whatever creature floats your boat who has never known the joys of “two love”. The jaded rake who swears he will NEVER (*cough*yeahright*cough*) be tamed. Even if he looks like an angel, he’s got a heart of stone, and it’s up to a very special sort of heroine to make it go pitty-pat again. That’s my sweet spot, and I know very well I’m not alone. I even managed to catch a (reformed) bad boy in real life and, as they say in the historicals, bring him up to scratch. I try to remember the thrill of his capture when he’s ensconced on the couch watching a zombie flick (try writing a love scene while a zombie is eating someone on TV in the other room…NOT recommended) and getting pretzel crumbs all over the cushions. But I digress…

So what is it about bad boys that get our motors running? I think there are a few things. First and foremost… they’re hot. I mean, I’m in heaven right now writing my upcoming Dark Dynasties series (yes, shameless plug, but seriously) because I get to tack pictures of dark and smoldering men to my bulletin board and call it work. Second, they tend to be tormented in some way or another, and we know, just know, that we could ease their pain if only we had a chance. The first hero of my new series, Ty in the book Dark Awakening, is part of an enslaved bloodline of vampires, and though his prowess as a hunter and a killer is legendary, he’s been kicked around for so long that he’s deathly (or is it un-deathly?) afraid to let himself want what his heart has needed for so long. *happy sigh* Third, at least in my opinion, there are few things more awesome than redeeming a bad boy. It’s never a task for the faint of heart, but when it works, it really works, and I’m a sucker for a great redemption story. It won’t surprise you that my favorite fairy tale is Beauty and the Beast. And that the ending of The Phantom of the Opera infuriates me to this day. Curse you, Christine! *shakes fist* Fourth…um, did I mention they’re hot?
Dark Awakening (Dark Dynasties, Book 1)
Anyway, seeing as how it’s the Month of Love, I thought it only right to honor my favorite sort of hero, the bad boy. Whether they’re sultry, spicy or secretly sweet, you can bet I’ll be reading and writing them for many years to come. So what sort of hero do you prefer? The classic white knight? The brooding bad boy? Got any favorites to share? I’ll be around all day to chat about anything from sexy heroes to writing to huge, drooling dogs (this is a new area of expertise for me), so I hope you’ll say hi!

Speaking of heroes in need of redemption, I’ve got a signed copy of my September Nocturne, Renegade Angel, for one lucky commenter. Raum, the hero, is about as fallen as you can get, but being chased out of Hell and forced to do freelance demon-hunting work for his old nemeses changes things in a big way. Bigger, in fact, than he ever imagined possible. Good luck and I’ll see you in the comments!

~*~*~*~*~*Giveaway*~*~*~*~*~

Like Kendra said, she’s givingaway a signed copy of RENEGADE ANGEL to ONE lucky US commenter and all you have to do is answer her question!

It’s been thousands of years since Raum’s angelic wings turned from white to black, and the Destroyer of Dignities and Robber of Kings never looked back. These days he’s also on the outs with Hell and works with a motley crew of ex-demons on a new mission: snuffing out lesser demons and their half-human progeny.

Raum’s latest assignment brings him to a small Vermont town—and a sweet, funny half-demon, half-human he’ll risk everything to save. Ember Riddick stirs him as no woman ever before—and she holds the key to what Lucifer will move Hell and Earth to prevent: his team’s redemption.

But Ember’s secrets are as dark as Raum’s midnight wings. And their fate may leave them entwined…but destroyed….

More ways to win:

+1 for each place you post about today’s contest on your blog, social network, or anywhere you can. Digg it, stumble it, twit it, share it with the world. Wherever you share it, make sure you add a link to it along with your comment.

Giveaway ends March 7th and the winner will be chosen by random.org on March 8th. We ask the winners to post a review of the novel someplace. Whether it is on their own blog, Amazon, GoodReads, LibraryThing or wherever, it doesn’t matter. Just help get the word out. Also, we will try to contact the winners, but we ask that you check back to see if you’ve won.

Praised for both her world-building and her vibrant characters, Kendra Leigh Castle’s greatest pleasure is spinning romantic tales for those who like their heroes a little on the nocturnal side. Along with her debut trilogy with Sourcebooks, The MacInnes Werewolves, Kendra has also written Renegade Angel, which is a finalist for Best Nocturne of 2010 in the Romantic Times Reviewers Choice Awards, and the upcoming Dark Dynasties series from Forever Romance, beginning with Dark Awakening (6/28). A Navy wife, she currently lives in Maryland with her husband, kids, a young Newf, an old Peke, and a very obnoxious cat.

Find Kendra Leigh Castle:
Website | Blog | Facebook
Check out DARK AWAKENING [Dark Dynasties 1] due out June 28, 2011
Leave a Reply

