>Interview + Giveaway with Melissa Marr- Romantic Times YA feature

>

Melissa Marr grew up believing in faeries, ghosts, and various other creatures. After teaching college literature for a decade, she applied her fascination with folklore to writing. Wicked Lovely was her first novel. Currently, Marr lives in the Washington, D.C., area, writes full-time, and still believes in faeries and ghosts.

Q: With so many various writing conferences and cons nowadays authors seem to have several options to fill their schedules. What is it about Romantic Times that made you add this event to your busy schedule?
A: I’ve been to RT every year since Wicked Lovely released. It’s the one conference I attend for myself. Why? It’s fun. It’s time with writer friends, readers, and booksellers. Why wouldn’t I attend if I can fit it in?

Q: As far as busy schedules go, do you find time to read for yourself? If so what are some of your current favorite books?
A: I read almost every day. (To that end, I typically don’t watch TV.) Of late, I’ve loved Divergent (V. Roth, YA Dystopian) above all others. I’ve also really enjoyed Across the Universe (B. Revis, YA SF); The Monstrumologist (R. Yancy, YA literary in the tradition of Shelley); Mercy (R. Lim, YA, angel); Anna Dressed in Blood (K Blake, YA, ghosts); Wither (L. DeStefano, YA Dystopian); Grave Witch (K. Price, adult, Urban Fantasy); Ten Ways to Be Adored While Landing a Lord (S. MacLean, adult, Regency Romance).

Q: So many adults are enjoying the YA genre now. Do you feel like your writing has messages for the targeted audience of young adults, or do you keep in mind the cross-over audience as well?
A: I don’t keep any audience or messages in mind when I write. I write the story. It’s about the characters, the world, the pacing, the desire to get lost with these “people” who live in my head. I suspect there are authors who are looking to promote a message, and I’m sure there are messages in my text—because an author’s beliefs DO leak into the prose—but that’s not ever a part of my writing process in any conscious way.

Q: With the success of your book/books, Do you ever get “star-struck” meeting other authors or have “fan-girl” moments?
A: Of course! Sometimes, I suspect I get more fan-girly because now some of the authors whose books I love are also people I think are wonderful. That said, my two biggest star-struck/fangirl moment have been a) over my favourite living author—who I completely blew off because it didn’t occur to me that he actually wanted to hang out with me. Luckily, he laughed afterwards, and we’ve become friends. And b) over a musician I’ve been a fan of for over a decade who read my books and then got in touch with me. The first time we spoke on the phone, I paced almost the whole time to keep from talking too fast. My solution there is that there’s the person I talk to & the person whose voice I love, and as long as I don’t think abt the fact that they’re the same person, I can keep from swooning 😉

Q: Since Romantic Times has an emphasis on romance, who are some of your favorite romantic couples of fiction?
A: I’m hopeless with couples as so many of them are for the space of one book, but I can tell you who some (not all!) of my “go to” authors when I want a sigh-worthy historical or contemporary romance (which are my favourite subgenres): Eloisa James, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Nora Roberts, Julia Quinn, Madeline Hunter, Loretta Chase, Lorraine Heath, Sarah MacLean, Tessa Dare, and Sophie Jordan. When I want paranormal, I look to Charlaine Harris, Kelley Armstrong, Jeaniene Frost, Sherrilyn Kenyon, and Terri Garey. I read a lot of romance.

Q: Are there certain things you have to have to write, like snacks or music?
A: I need either caffeine (tea or coffee) or water, and I must have either music or nature.

Q: If you could give one piece of advice to young adults (on anything), what would it be?
A: Believe in yourself. People will tell you that dreams don’t come true; they will say that the obstacles are vast. They are often right, but passion and belief go far in turning the impossible into the real and the obstacles more manageable.

***********GIVEAWAY***********
Darkest Mercy (Wicked Lovely)The Summer King is missing; the Dark Court is bleeding; and a stranger walks the streets of Huntsdale, his presence signifying the deaths of powerful fey.
Aislinn tends to the Summer Court, searching for her absent king and yearning for Seth. Torn between his new queen and his old love, Keenan works from afar to strengthen his court against the coming war. Donia longs for fiery passion even as she coolly readies the Winter Court for battle. And Seth, sworn brother of the Dark King and heir to the High Queen, is about to make a mistake that could cost his life.

Love, despair, and betrayal ignite the Faery Courts, and in the final conflict, some will win . . . and some will lose everything.

The thrilling conclusion to Melissa Marr’s New York Times bestselling Wicked Lovely series will leave readers breathless.

Win a signed copy of Melissa Marr’s exciting conclusion to her Wicked Lovely saga; “Darkest Mercy”simply by leaving a comment on this post. Winner will also recieve a Wicked Lovely tshirt, bracelet, bookmarks and temprary tattoos from the author. (see picture below) *GIVEAWAY NOW CLOSED*

As usual, there are more ways to win:

+1 for each place you post about today’s contest on your blog, social network, or anywhere you can. Digg it, stumble it, twit it, share it with the world. Wherever you share it, make sure you add a link to it along with your comment.

This contest IS international. Giveaway ends April 22nd and the winner will be chosen by random.org on April 24th. We ask the winners to post a review of the novel someplace. Whether it is on their own blog, Amazon, GoodReads, LibraryThing or wherever, it doesn’t matter. Just help get the word out. Also, we will try to contact the winners, but we ask that you check back to see if you’ve won.

Leave a Reply

