>Interview with Tina Ferraro – Romantic Times Feature

>

Tina Ferraro believes in the adage that it is never too late to have a happy childhood. She, in fact, had a very happy one, living in Westchester County, New York, with her parents, her brother, and several cats. She was an avid bookworm, earned a shelf full of medals for competitive swimming, and would sometimes play Barbies for days on end. It was her teen years that she feels she failed to make the most of–probably because she was too busy daydreaming of the exciting life she wished she had. All these years later, as a wife of two decades and a mother of three teens, she is giving herself that happy teenage experience by writing stories about girls who not only dream big–but make their dreams come true.

.
Some of Tina’s favorite things include reading, drinking lattes, hanging with her family, watching the TV show Lost, and chatting with her readers through her Web site, http://www.tinaferraro.com./  or blogs http://www.booksboysbuzz.com/ & http://www.yafresh.blogspot.com/

Q: With so many various writing conferences and cons nowadays, authors seem to have several options to fill their schedules. What is it about Romantic Times that made you add this event to your busy schedule?

A: I have wanted to attend a Romantic Times conference for several years because I understand authors get lots of face time with readers! This year it is being held in Los Angeles–my city–and with the large presence of Young Adult authors, so how could I resist?

Q: As far as busy schedules go, do you find time to read for yourself? If so what are some of your current favorite books?

A: Definitely! Here are some adult romance novels I have recently loved: TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, Kristan Higgins, REMEMBER ME? Sophie Kinsella, THE LADY MOST LIKELY…, Julia Quinn, Eloisa James and Connie Brockway. YA Romances include REAPER by Rachel Vincent, TANGLED by Carolyn Mackler and JUST ONE WISH by Janette Rallison.

Q: So many adults are enjoying the YA genre now. Do you feel like your writing has messages for the targeted audience of young adults, or do you keep in mind the cross-over audience as well?

A: I am frequently told that I create characters and situations that cross-over to the adult reader. In fact, from feedback I received, my second book, HOW TO HOOK A HOTTIE, seem to sell and resonate even better with adults…but I don’t have any statistics to back that up!

Q: Do you ever get “star-struck” meeting other authors or have “fan-girl” moments?

A: Oh, gosh, yes! I have embarrassed myself not once, but twice with my idol, Janet Evanovich (who writes the Stephanie Plum series, among others). My brain just goes to fan-girl mush, and both times I have been unable to sleep afterwards, mortified by how I’d babbled!

Q: Since Romantic Times has an emphasis on romance, who are some of your favorite romantic couples of fiction, or ones perhaps you’ve created?

A: I love the dynamic between Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum/Joe Morelli, and Claire Randall/Jamie Fraser in Diana Gabaldon’s OUTLANDER series.

Q: Are there certain things you have to have to write, like snacks or music?

A: I think most of all, I like a bottomless cup of coffee!

Q: Writing seems to be such a personal thing, is it hard to send your work out into the world? How do you deal with getting feedback from so many different people?

A: Yes, it is hard to show others my work. But I have a couple writer-friends who help me by reading my early drafts–and keep it a secret from me if they laugh or groan too loud at my ridiculousness–and their notes and suggestions empower me to show it to my agent.

Q: If you could give one piece of advice to young adults (on anything), what would it be?

A: I think well-written stories in all genres will continue to be popular, so authors should tell the stories they feel called to tell!

Q: As writers of Young Adult fiction, teens (and some adults for that matter) can get kind of obsessed with characters and the authors that created them. Do you enjoy the fame and attention you have gained from writing or is it more of a nuisance?

A: I like to say that I missed a stage of maturation…that even though I am a functioning adult (and parent), that part of me is still in my teens. That said, I really enjoy talking to teens…will sometimes seek them out in an adult-centric environment for a breath of fresh air! So while fame and attention continues to embarrass me a bit, I love to talk to teen readers about my characters and teen issues and story-lines!

Q: What is next for you? Any exciting news you could share…or tease us with?

A: I have one full novel being shopped right now called HALF-LIFE. It’s a teen angel story with the surviving twin facing some dangerous issues, with help from the twin who passed away long, long ago. And I am finishing up another book that’s still kind of hush-hush, but I can leak these items: hot surfer dude, a crazy crush, and truth behind the “secret menu” at In-N-Out Burger.

*********************

Check out these titles by Tina Ferraro-
http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B000SEK0JE&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrhttp://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0385734387&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrhttp://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=paperbackdolls-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0385735820&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

Leave a Reply

