>Interview and Giveaway with Sophie Jordan – Romantic Times Feature

>

Sophie Jordan grew up in the Texas hill country where she wove fantasies of dragons, warriors, and princesses. A former high school English teacher, she’s also the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Avon historical romances. She now lives in Houston with her family. When she’s not writing, she spends her time overloading on caffeine (lattes and Diet cherry Coke preferred), talking plotlines with anyone who will listen (including her kids), and cramming her DVR with true-crime and reality-TV shows. Sophie also writes paranormal romances under the name Sharie Kohler.

Q: With so many various writing conferences and cons nowadays, authors seem to have several options to fill their schedules. What is it about Romantic Times that made you add this event to your busy schedule?

It’s such a fan-centered event – and becoming more so every year! It’s just makes sense to attend.

Q: As far as busy schedules go, do you find time to read for yourself? If so what are some of your current favorite books?

Yikes – I don’t read as much as I would like. I travel quite a bit and writing is hard then, so I read at that time. I read across genres. I enjoy reading Claudia Gray, Lisa McMann and Kimberly Derting in YA. I enjoyed Justin Cronin’s The Passage very much. I’m fortunate enough to get advance reader copies of upcoming hot books from my publisher, so I read those a lot. In romance, I love Sarah MacLean, Julie James and Joss Ware.

Q: So many adults are enjoying the YA genre now. Do you feel like your writing has messages for the targeted audience of young adults, or do you keep in mind the cross-over audience as well?

The themes and issues in my YA can appeal to anyone with a pulse, teen or adult — anyone who’s known loss and love, who’s struggled through life to find themselves, should be able to relate. 🙂

Q: Do you ever get “star-struck” meeting other authors or have “fan-girl” moments?

Sure! If it’s an author of a book that really swept me away I’m always honored to meet the author and get a chance to discuss her/his book.

Q: Since Romantic Times has an emphasis on romance, who are some of your favorite romantic couples of fiction, or ones perhaps you’ve created?

In my historical romances, my recent hero and heroine in WICKED NIGHTS WITH A LOVER struck a chord for me. My heroine, Marguerite, has less than a year to live, so, of course, everything is more desperate, more intense, more emotional in her relationship with the hero.

And Jacinda and Will in my YA, Firelight, are one of my favorite couples, of course! They’re the epitome of starcrossed lovers.

Q: Are there certain things you have to have to write, like snacks or music?

I’m quite attached to my Starbucks lattes when writing! I’ve cut back on the diet cherry cokes lately – out of guilt, but I break down and indulge in those now and then when writing.

Q: Writing seems to be such a personal thing, is it hard to send your work out into the world? How do you deal with getting feedback from so many different people?

I’m doing what I love to do, and I’ve been blessed to have touched so many people positively with my work. I’ve also learned a great deal from the fans who email me and reach out to me. As writers, we work in a vacuum. Sometimes I have no idea that something I wrote affected anyone until a fan lets me know. It’s always humbling.

Q: If you could give one piece of advice to young adults (on anything), what would it be?

Don’t be afraid to be yourself – and when things are tough, just remember: this, too, shall pass. Enjoy these years and don’t take everything so seriously!

Q: What is your opinion on the steady popularity of supernatural elements in YA fiction? Do you think that the Vampire (were’s, angels, demons, fairies) trend is here to stay?

I think the paranormal is here to stay in fiction — period. Paranormal elements just heighten the conflicts and emotions in books, which makes for a more intense read.

Q: As writers of Young Adult fiction, teens (and some adults for that matter) can get kind of obsessed with characters and the authors that created them. Do you enjoy the fame and attention you have gained from writing or is it more of a nuisance?

I’d never call it a nuisance. It’s an honor that my characters are “larger-than-life” for so many readers.

Q: What is next for you? Any exciting news you could share…or tease us with?

I’m still working on my YA FIRELIGHT series. Book #2, VANISH, releases this September.

Firelight has been optioned for film by Mandalay and is being adapted to script by screenwriter, Nick Pustay. When I’m in LA for RT, I’ll be meeting w/Mandalay – so that is VERY exciting!

In August, my next historical romances releases, WICKED IN YOUR ARMS. The cover is stunning, and I’m thrilled for this book to hit shelves.

*~*~*~*~*GIVEAWAY*~*~*~*~*

FirelightMarked as special at an early age, Jacinda knows her every move is watched. But she longs for freedom to make her own choices. When she breaks the most sacred tenet of her kind, she nearly pays with her life, only to be spared by a beautiful stranger sent to hunt those like her. For Jacinda is a draki–a descendant of dragons whose ability to shift into human form is her best defense.

Forced to flee into the mortal world, Jacinda struggles to adapt. The one bright light is Will. Gorgeous, elusive Will who stirs her inner draki to life. Although she is irrestibly drawn to him, Jacinda knows Will’s dark secret: He and his family are hunters. She should avoid him at all costs. But her inner draki is slowly slipping away – if it dies she will be left a human forever. She’ll do anything to prevent that. Even if it means getting closer to her most dangerous enemy.

Mythical powers and irresistible passion ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide …

Sophie Jordan is giving away a signed copy of FIRELIGHT to one luck reader! To enter simply leave a comment for Sophie in this post!

More ways to win:

+1 for each place you post about today’s contest on your blog, social network, or anywhere you can. Digg it, stumble it, twit it, facebook it, share it with the world. Wherever you share it, make sure you add a link to it along with your comment.

Giveaway ends April 22nd and the winner will be chosen by random.org and announced in our ‘Week in Review’ post April 24th. We ask the winners to post a review of the novel someplace. Whether it is on their own blog, Amazon, GoodReads, LibraryThing or wherever, it doesn’t matter. Just help get the word out. Also, we will try to contact the winners, but we ask that you check back to see if you’ve won.

Leave a Reply

