>ARC Review: Honorary Doll Lisa reviews Hard Bitten by Chloe Neill!

>

Hard Bitten (Chicagoland Vampires, Book 4)Times are hard for newly minted vampire Merit. Ever since shapeshifters announced their presence to the world, humans have been rallying against supernaturals-and they’re camping outside of Cadogan House with protest signs that could turn to pitchforks at any moment. Inside its doors, things between Merit and her Master, green-eyed heartbreaker Ethan Sullivan are…tense. But then the mayor of Chicago calls Merit and Ethan to a clandestine meeting and tells them about a violent vamp attack that has left three women missing. His message is simple: get your House in order. Or else.

Merit needs to get to the bottom of this crime, but it doesn’t help that she can’t tell who’s on her side. So she secretly calls in a favor from someone who’s tall, dark, and part of underground vamp group that may have some deep intel on the attack. Merit soon finds herself in the heady, dark heart of Chicago’s supernatural society-a world full of vampires who seem ready to fulfill the protesting human’s worst fears, and a place where she’ll learn that you can’t be a vampire without getting a little blood on your hands…

I was one of the lucky few that got an ARC copy of Hard Bitten and I must say it is a very fine piece of work. I have read Chloe Neill since the beginning of the series and immediately liked her style. Chloe may not be the best technical writer, but what makes Chloe’s books so compelling is that her characters come alive on the page with plots that move and shake us up. Having said that, Hard Bitten is written with great skill and is one of her best.

What’s a vampire to do when vampire politics and Chicago politics are at opposing ends? What’s a Sentinel to do when sultry green-eyed Master suddenly trusts her beyond her expectations?

Chloe Neill answers so many questions that fans have been burning to know. There is no dragging out of plot lines that are better ended for this author! Chloe’s world is a fun place to visit!

Her two main characters, Merit and Ethan, go through phenomenal development. I was paying so much attention to their growth that the end of the book caught me off guard.

Two months ago…(I am sitting on the couch across from my husband reading the last few pages)

I roared to my feet. “She did not just do that!” While my husband glances at me with a grin, I re-read the last few paragraphs out loud to him. “I can’t believe she did that! There is no friggin’ way she actually ***bleeeeep***.”

Now, a month later, I have recovered from my shock and I still don’t know if I should reverently stroke the pages or toss the book across the room in disbelief! I am very glad that I do not need to wait an entire year for Chloe’s next book in the Chicagoland Vampire series, Drink Deep.

Want to discuss the book? Please join the discussion groups on Chloe’s new Forum

~Lisa Coder

*Be sure to enter the MAJOR Chicagoland Vampire Giveaway HERE
Leave a Reply

