>Desi’s Favorite Book Boys + GIVEAWAY

>

I wanted in on the action this week. So, I did what young girls do best…I whined and begged and persisted until the grown-ups caved. 🙂

You see, I LOVE books and I absolutely LOVE the boy characters in them. I mean, I guess it’s a version of sex appeal. I’m all for girl power and all that jazz, but I don’t just want to read about kick-butt heroines because that would get old for me real quick! After all, what would Katniss be without Peeta or Gale? The answer is easy- less likeable.

You may think I’m going to pick Peeta or Gale because of my above statement…a year ago that may have been true. And while I am and will always remain hardcore TEAM PEETA (I have the shirt to prove it;) and sometimes call myself Mrs. Mellark, that fact of the matter is Mockingjay kind of bursted by bubble on a lot of my fan girly obsession with that particular series. Lucky for me, there are many amazing books and fictional hotties to get carried away with. Since I cannot pick only one I am going to pick FOUR!!! *squee*

In no particular order–the first book hottie that is pretty darn awesome is Cole from Maggie Stiefvater’s Wolves of Mercy Falls series.  *SIGH*

Cole is a a kick butt guy in a very laid back manner. He is a musician and rock star that just happens to be a scientific genius. The son of uber smart parents, Cole ran off to get lost in the world and lost his way instead. When readers fist meet Cole in Linger, he is at his very worst and there isn’t much to actually like about him. He cheats, he does drugs, he lies and he is an awful best friend…however, all of those thing are actions that Cole has begun doing to mask the pain and insecurity he is feeling. When Cole ropes his bestfriend into doing a new drug that is supposed to gaurantee the best high ever, it is his friend who pays the ultimate price. This jolts Cole a little from his self pity party and with the help of the other characters in Mercy Falls, Cole really steps up to the plate in a big way in Linger and Forever.

I like Cole because he is the bad boy that really isn’t. In fact, I think that if Cole wasn’t so friggin hot he may be kinda geeky–at least in a paralell universe/series.;)

My second book hottie is none other than Denver Beck from Jana Oliver’s Demon Trapper’s Daughter series. Ok, so technically I really shouldn’t be crushing on him cuz he’s like older and all but he is AWESOME! Beck is described as a southern good ole boy that is military trained and traps demons for a living. He is full of charm and lots of wise guy remarks. Tall, fit, blond with an accent… Wanna see how I picture Beck? OK!

Brad Pitt in the early 90’s

*Deep breath-Exhale* Ummmm….yeah. Besides the obvious attraction that my mental picture conjures up, Beck is also a character that has a heart behind that tough guy, witty exterior. He is protective of those he cares for and really good at what he does. Seriously. What girl wouldn’t feel a little safer with a professional demon trapper trained to battle the forces of evil by her side? I know I would. Too bad he’s like in his twenties. Oh well, that is why fictional boys are perfect;).

Okie dokie, on to my third book hottie. The following character is one that I have been crazy about for a while now. His character has been through so much and suffered because of the people and situations surrounding him. Most of the time he is able to joke about things when everything starts feeling too heavy but recent events in this guys life have brought out a darker side to his personality. Who am I talking about?

Shane Collins from Rachel Caine’s Morganville series. Poor Shane! He has had so much bad stuff happen to those he cares about. Shane is passionately protective of those he cares about (including his housemates and girlfriend) and though he comes off as lazy, he is able to get the job done when needed. Despite the recent twist in his personality, deep down Shane is still the fun loving albeit quick tempered character I adore. Anyone for a video game and Hot Dog or maybe a Brisket Taco? 😉

I saved the newest addition to my prestigious list for last. My number four favorite book boy is from Divergent by Veronica Roth. Those that have read the new dystopian book can probably guess who it is but for those late to hop on the Divergent train, I am referring to the character of Four.

Actor Matt Lanter is somewhat Four-like in looks

In the world in which Four lives he is an 18 year old Dauntless trainer(and computer guy). He is in charge of assisting the new recruits in their training. He is somewhat distant and cold at first but that is largely due to the hidden past and secrets he masks. There are only 4 things that Four fears and he has trained himself to face them despite the overwhelming terror he feels from those fears. He is very skilled with weapons and a tough opponent. Four is quite charming and oddly funny when he lets his guard down and when he likes a girl, well lets just say that even reading about it makes me grin like a loon and my face flush.

Well, there you have it, my TOP FOUR favorite fictional guys and the reasons I love them. The thing with book crushes is that unlike a real life boyfriend or crush, I want the world to love them as much as I do. So, I am going to give you all a chance to discover why I love them so much. I am going to giveaway a very special prize. One lucky person will get books featuring all my favorite guys. *SQUEE*

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*GIVEAWAY*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Forever (Wolves of Mercy Falls, Book 3)The Demon Trapper's Daughter: A Demon Trappers Novel  The Morganville Vampires, Volume 3 Divergent (Divergent Trilogy)

   

That is right. One very lucky person will receive my ARC copy of Forever and The Demon Trapper’s Daughter and Brand NEW copies of Morganville volume #3 and Divergent

To enter to win simply fill out THIS FORM then leave a comment for me here and tell me what book boys make you bonkers and all fan girly? Then if you are feeling all warm and cozy do me a favor and share the love. Tell your friends about this contest and maybe JUST MAYBE follow Paperback Dolls? That is all there is to it.

This contest is only open to US readers and will run through June 24th. Winner will be selected via random.org and announced in the Week In Review post Sunday June 26th.

Good Luck & Happy Reading
4 responses to “>Desi’s Favorite Book Boys + GIVEAWAY

  1. >Those are some great bad boys!

  2. >I am definitely a Shane Collins fan. Who can deny his unique charm?I am also a fan of Chase from Jennifer Lynn Barnes Raised by Wolves. Gotta love a sweet guy who would literally do anything for you.

  3. >Wow, I haven't read any of those, but now I REALLY want to :)Wraith from Larissa Ione's Demonica and Eric from Sookie Stackhouse series always makes me swoon 🙂

  4. >I'm there with the Jace fans. He's bad but in a good way 😉

Leave a Reply

